Faculty and Staff

Department Chair

Michelmore, Molly

Molly Michelmore
Associate Professor of History, Department Head
Newcomb Hall 221
540.458.8779
michelmorem@wlu.edu

Twentieth Century U.S. Political, Cultural and Social

Faculty

Bello, David

David Bello
Professor of History, Director of East Asian Studies
Newcomb Hall 206
540.458.8770
bellod@wlu.edu

China and Japan

Bidlack, Richard

Richard Bidlack
Martin and Brooke Stein Professor of History
Newcomb Hall 211
540.458.8912
bidlackr@wlu.edu

Modern Europe, Russia, Eurasia

Brock, Michelle D.

Michelle D. Brock
Associate Professor of History
Newcomb 316
540.458.8780
brockm@wlu.edu

The Age of the Witch-hunts, history of Medieval, early modern, and modern Britain, Scottish history, the British Reformations

DeLaney, Ted

Ted DeLaney
Associate Professor of History
Newcomb Hall 103
540.458.8963
delaneyt@wlu.edu

Colonial North America, Comparative Slavery, African American, Civil Rights, Gay and Lesbian

Gildner, Matt

Matt Gildner
Assistant Professor of History
Newcomb 218
540.458.8772
gildnerm@wlu.edu

Colonial Latin America, Modern Latin America, U.S.-Latin America Relations

Horowitz, Sarah

Sarah Horowitz
Associate Professor of History
Newcomb Hall 306
540.458.8773
horowitzs@wlu.edu

Modern Europe, France, Women in Europe

Myers, Barton A.

Barton A. Myers
Associate Professor of History
Newcomb 223
540.458.8776
myersb@wlu.edu

American Civil War, War and Society, U.S. South, Public History

Patch, William

William Patch
Kenan Professor of History
Newcomb Hall 219
540.458.8774
patchw@wlu.edu

Modern Europe, Germany, International Relations

Peterson, David

David Peterson
Professor of History
On Sabbatical 2017-2018
Newcomb Hall 205
540.458.8094
petersond@wlu.edu

Medieval, Renaissance, and Reformation Europe

Rupke, Nicolaas A.

Nicolaas A. Rupke
Johnson Professor of History
Newcomb Hall 203
540.458.8344
rupken@wlu.edu

History of Science

Senechal, Roberta

Roberta Senechal
Professor of History
Newcomb Hall 232
540.458.8456
senechalr@wlu.edu

U.S. Social History, Violence, Women in America

Vise, Melissa

Melissa Vise
Assistant Professor of History
Newcomb Hall 314
540.458.8249
mvise@wlu.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Atanasova, Kameliya N.

Kameliya N. Atanasova
Assistant Professor of Religion
Tucker 207
540.458.8797
atanasovak@wlu.edu

Bell, Alison

Alison Bell
Associate Professor of Anthropology
Newcomb Hall 309
540.458.8798
bella@wlu.edu

Eastwood, Jonathan

Jonathan Eastwood
Laurent Boetsch Term Professor of Sociology
Newcomb Hall 104
540.458.8777
eastwoodj@wlu.edu

Liu,

Liu, Jin
Visiting Scholar
Center for Global Learning 223
Global Learning 223
Liuj@wlu.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Lamar Cecil
William R. Kenan Jr. Professor of History Emeritus
Lynchburg, VA
lamarcecil@comcast.net

Roger B. Jeans
Elizabeth Lewis Otey Professor of History Emeritus
Leyburn Library, carrel 4-080
540.463.2254
jeansr@wlu.edu

Barry Machado
Professor of History Emeritus
Lake Geneva, WI
machadob@wlu.edu

J. Holt Merchant
Professor of History, Emeritus
Newcomb Hall 205
540.458.8778
merchanth@wlu.edu

David Parker
Associate Professor of History Emeritus
Lexington, VA
ashworthj@wlu.edu (for messages)

Henry P. Porter, Jr.
Professor of History Emeritus
porterh@wlu.edu

I. Taylor Sanders
Professor of History Emeritus
Newcomb Hall 205
17taylorbabs@embarqmail.com

Administrative Assistant

Hemphill, Kara

Kara Hemphill
Administrative Assistant
Newcomb 105
540.458.8771
hemphillk@wlu.edu