Faculty and Staff

Department Chair

Peterson, David

David Peterson
Professor of History, Chair of the Department of History
Newcomb Hall 203
540.458.8094
petersond@wlu.edu

Medieval, Renaissance, and Reformation Europe

Faculty

Bello, David

David Bello
Associate Professor of History, Director of East Asian Studies
Newcomb Hall 218
540.458.8770
bellod@wlu.edu

China and Japan

Bidlack, Richard

Richard Bidlack
Martin and Brooke Stein Professor of History
Newcomb Hall 211
540.458.8912
bidlackr@wlu.edu

Modern Europe, Russia, Eurasia

Brock, Michelle D.

Michelle D. Brock
Assistant Professor of History
Newcomb 316
540.458.8780
brockm@wlu.edu

The Age of the Witch-hunts, history of Medieval, early modern, and modern Britain, Scottish history, the British Reformations

DeLaney, Ted

Ted DeLaney
Associate Professor of History
On Leave Winter 2017
Newcomb Hall 103
540.458.8963
delaneyt@wlu.edu

Colonial North America, Comparative Slavery, African American, Civil Rights, Gay and Lesbian

Gildner, Matt

Matt Gildner
Assistant Professor of History
Newcomb 218
540.458.8772
gildnerm@wlu.edu

Colonial Latin America, Modern Latin America, U.S.-Latin America Relations

Horowitz, Sarah

Sarah Horowitz
Associate Professor of History
Newcomb Hall 314
540.458.8773
horowitzs@wlu.edu

Modern Europe, France, Women in Europe

Michelmore, Molly

Molly Michelmore
Associate Professor of History
Newcomb Hall 221
540.458.8779
michelmorem@wlu.edu

Twentieth Century U.S. Political, Cultural and Social

Myers, Barton A.

Barton A. Myers
Associate Professor of History
Newcomb 223
540.458.8776
myersb@wlu.edu

American Civil War, War and Society, U.S. South, Public History

Patch, William

William Patch
Kenan Professor of History
Newcomb Hall 219
540.458.8774
patchw@wlu.edu

Modern Europe, Germany, International Relations

Rupke, Nicolaas A.

Nicolaas A. Rupke
Johnson Professor of History
Newcomb Hall 306
540.458.8344
rupken@wlu.edu

History of Science

Senechal, Roberta

Roberta Senechal
Professor of History
Newcomb Hall 232
540.458.8456
senechalr@wlu.edu

U.S. Social History, Violence, Women in America

Tallie, T.J.

T.J. Tallie
Assistant Professor of History
Newcomb 315
540.458.8775
talliet@wlu.edu

Modern African history, Africa in the Western Imagination, South African History, Global History, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Affiliated Faculty

Bell, Alison

Alison Bell
Associate Professor of Anthropology
Newcomb Hall 309
540.458.8798
bella@wlu.edu

Eastwood, Jonathan

Jonathan Eastwood
Laurent Boetsch Term Professor of Sociology
Newcomb Hall 225
540.458.8777
eastwoodj@wlu.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Lamar Cecil
William R. Kenan Jr. Professor of History Emeritus
Lynchburg, VA
lamarcecil@comcast.net

Roger B. Jeans
Elizabeth Lewis Otey Professor of History Emeritus
Leyburn Library 412
540.463.2254
jeansr@wlu.edu

William A. Jenks
William R. Kenan Jr. Professor of History Emeritus
ashworthj@wlu.edu (for messages)

Barry Machado
Professor of History Emeritus
Lake Geneva, WI
machadob@wlu.edu

J. Holt Merchant
Professor of History, Emeritus
Newcomb Hall 205
540.458.8778
merchanth@wlu.edu

David Parker
Associate Professor of History Emeritus
Lexington, VA
___.___.____
ashworthj@wlu.edu (for messages)

Henry P. Porter, Jr.
Professor of History Emeritus
porterh@wlu.edu

I. Taylor Sanders
Professor of History Emeritus
Newcomb Hall 205
17taylorbabs@embarqmail.com

Administrative Assistant

Jennifer Ashworth
Administrative Assistant
Newcomb 105
540.458.8771
ashworthj@wlu.edu