Awards and Scholarships

Each year the History Department is privileged to present several awards and scholarships to outstanding graduates and rising senior majors. These are described below, along with a list of the recipients from the last decade.

Awards to Graduates of the Department

Scholarships to Rising Senior Majors in History

Awards to graduates of the Department of History Since 2003:

The William A. Jenks Award in History is given in support of W&L graduates who are undertaking graduate work in history. The Jenks award was established by former students and friends in honor of William A. Jenks, Kenan Professor of History and a distinguished teacher and scholar of European history at Washington and Lee from 1946 until his retirement in 1983 when he was named professor emeritus. Jenks received his bachelor's degree in history, magna cum laude, from Washington and Lee in 1939, and master's and doctorate degrees in European history from Columbia University.

2015 Nicholas J. Castanes, Stephen T. Deyarmin, Claire M. Elder, Isaac D. Webb
2014 Julia Miglets
2013 Isaac Webb
2012 Alexandra Locking
2011 Alexandra Locking
2010 James S. McKay, Julia L. Miglets, R. Chamberlain Wilson
2009 Wesley B. O'Dell, James S. McKay, Julia L. Miglets, R. Chamberlain Wilson
2008 Randolph Chamberlain Wilson, Lisa Marie Zevorich, Christina E. Petrides
2007 Peter Jones, Rob Policelli, Emily Beth Robideau, Lisa Marie Zevorich
2006 Geoffrey J. Corey Harmon
2005 Lindsay D. Hagerman, Robert A. Policelli
2004 Matthew T. Jacobs, Christina E. Petrides, Robert A. Policelli, Daniel J. Tortora
2003 Christina E. Petrides

The Christopher Merrill Main '94 History Award is awarded to an exceptional senior who, through the spoken tongue or journalistic or literary expression, has shared his or her humor, wit and storytelling prowess with classmates and professors in contributing to a community where friendship, camaraderie, and goodwill flourish. It is hoped that the recipient be a gregarious History major who has an abiding love for Washington and Lee. This annual prize is named in memory of Christopher Merrill Main, Class of 1994.

2015 Cory M. Church, Samantha A. Swatski
2014 Giles (Det) Beal
2013 Elizabeth Flanigan, Ben Ruffel
2012 Frederick McCracken Davis
2011 Crighton Allen, Scott Matarese
2010 Jane C. Bouch, Brian E. Devine
2009 Michael R. Kazior, Dmitry Slavin, Samuel T. Wilmoth, Mary Cason Wilson
2008 Seth Richard Bullard, Jacob Henry Dwight Geiger
2007 Andrew Glenn Rothey
2006 Morgan K. Hill
2005 Matthew Layton
2004 Carlos William Apaht
2003 Jeremy Scott Franklin

The James A. Vann III '61 Prize in History is awarded to a junior or senior who submits a superior paper in the field of modern European history or architecture. The Vann Prize was created in memory of James A. Vann III, a 1961 Washington and Lee graduate and distinguished historian.

2015 Amanda G. Dixon, Kimberly V. Kennedy
2014 Annelise Alissa Madison
2013 Isaac Webb
2012 Elizabeth Monroe King
2011 Gregory C. Franke
2010 Rebecca M. Beeson
2009 Kavita M. DeVaney, Alexandra M. Locking
2006 Charles Fagan
2005 Benjamin Hicks
2004 Kara Beth Coen
2003 Andrew Noel Griffith Borda

The Ollinger Crenshaw Prize in American History is awarded each year to a history major with special interest and achievement in American history. The Crenshaw Prize was created in 2000 by Nathan V. Handricks III '66, '69L, in honor of beloved professor, Ollinger Crenshaw '25. Professor Crenshaw was a faculty member in the History Department at Washington and Lee from 1926-1969 and author of General Lee's College: The Rise and Growth of Washington and Lee University.

2015 Carl A. Retzloff
2014 Mark A. Sowinski
2013 Thomas Sanford
2012 Andrew Joseph Renaldo
2011 Cara Elizabeth Regan
2010 Zachary S. Segall
2009 Seth R. Bullard, Benjamin D. Wilson
2007 Emma Lynn Burris and Lisa Marie Zevorich
2006 Charles Richardson Yates, III
2005 Benjamin Wesley Hicks
2004 Benjamin Nathan Rumley

The Warren M. Wilson Award in African History may be awarded annually to a senior for graduate study in African History. The Warren M. Wilson Award was established in 1986 by Mr. Anthony M. Wilson and Professor Henry P. Porter Jr.

2008 Christopher Keith O'Connor
2003 Kyle Glenn Healy

Scholarships Awarded to outstanding rising senior history majors since 2003:

The Washington Family Descendants Scholarship Award is made annually to the rising senior history major who attains the highest grade-point-average following his or her first three years of study. The Washington Family Descendants Scholarship was established in 1982 by approximately 600 members of the National Society for the purpose of promoting and supporting scholarship in the field of American history.

2015 Jacob M. Berman
2014 Jillian Nicole Katterhagen
2013 Annelise A. Madison
2012 Joseph Roger Landry
2011 Emily Babcock Ackerman
2010 Daniel D. Van Denburgh
2009 Zachary S. Segall
2008 Wesley Ben O'Dell
2007 Michael Robert Keenan
2006 James S. McKay
2005 Andrew R. Lloyd
2004 Benjamin W. Hicks
2003 Benjamin Nathan Rumley

The Elizabeth B. Garrett Scholarship in History is awarded for excellence in History.

2015 Grant H. Cokeley
2014 Carl Alexander Retzloff
2013 Jonathan Cahill
2012 Isaac Daniel Webb
2011 Samuel Mercado-Rios
2010 Scott M. Matarese
2009 Jane C. Bouch, Brian Ellis Devine, Rachel C. Langdon, Dalena Grace Moser
2008 Dmitry Slavin, Benjamin Daniel Wilson
2007 James Arthur Madden
2006 Emma L. Burris
2005 Charles Fagan
2004 Susan Claire Somers
2003 Amy Elizabeth Blakeway

The Martin Baldwin Whitaker Memorial Merit Scholarship is made to a rising senior, majoring in history, who has achieved the highest grade-point average in history courses. This scholarship was established in 1981 by the family of Martin Baldwin Whitaker and by his former law firm, Chamberlain, Hrdlicka, White, Johnson and Williams of Houston, Texas. Mr. Whitaker was a member of the Class of 1971.

2015 Bruce C. McCuskey, Catherine C. Roach
2013 Annelise A. Madison
2012 Thomas John Sanford
2011 Andrew Joseph Renaldo
2010 Gregory C. Franke
2009 George Emmett Morgan, IV
2008 Allexandra Mary Locking
2007 William Thomas Campbell
2006 Matthew G. Miller
2005 Elizabeth Davis
2004 Lindsay D. Hagerman
2003 Rebecca Marie Mitchell

The William A. Jenks Scholarship is awarded to students of unusual academic merit with strong interest in history and demonstrated financial need. This scholarship was established in 1997 in honor of William A. Jenks, teacher, scholar, and mentor, by Tom Angelillo, Class of 1974. The Jenks scholarship recognizes the distinguished teaching of this William R. Kenan Professor of History, Emeritus.

2015 Beth J. Kennedy, Mary K. Sands
2014 Jillian Nicole Katterhagen
2014 Carl Alexander Retzloff, Tiomothy E. Paulsen, Kimberly V. Kennedy, Samantha A. Swatski
2013 Angelica Tillander, Madeline Thorpe
2012 Nicholas James Castanes and Thomas John Sanford
2011 Katie Gibbs, Charles Richard Westfal
2010 Crighton T. Allen, John F. Kozak, Rhett J. Rayos, Cara E. Regan, and George E. Stephenson
2009 Rebecca Beeson, Kevin T. Corn, T. Michael Craig-Grubbs, Kayla Elizabeth Rowe, Zachary S. Segall
2008 Terrence Michael McKelvey, Julia Lauren Miglets, Sarah Katherine Morris
2007 William Thomas Campbell, Timothy Adam Conway, Randolph Chamberlain Wilson
2006 Lisa M. Zevorich
2005 Melissa Clarke
2004 Benjamin W. Hicks, Susanne M. LaFleur
2003 Rebecca Marie Mitchell

The John Preston Moore III Award is awarded annually to a graduating senior or rising senior for excellence in history. The John Preston Moore III Award was established in 2008 by Anne D. Moore in memory of John Preston Moore III.

2015 Jillian N. Katterhagen
2014 Kathryn Mary Bennett
2013 Joseph Landry
2012 Samuel Mercado-Rios
2011 Elizabeth Monroe King
2010 Claire M. Elder
2009 Caitlyn Marie Wilson