Faculty and Staff

Program Head

Barnett, Jeff

Jeff Barnett
S. Blount Mason Jr. Professor of Spanish and Program Head, Latin American and Caribbean Studies
Tucker Hall, Room 304
540.458.8950
barnettj@wlu.edu

Latin American Narrative and Cultural Studies, with regional emphasis on Mexican, Central American, and Pan-Caribbean cultures.

Core Faculty

Botta, Mónica

Mónica Botta
Associate Professor of Spanish
Tucker Hall, Room 313
540.458.8297
bottam@wlu.edu

Latin American Theater, emphasis on the transmission of history and memory in the theater of the Southern Cone. Human rights and post-dictatorial literatures and, Staging in the Academe.

Dickovick, Tyler

Tyler Dickovick
Professor of Politics
On leave full year 2018-19
540.458.8174
dickovickt@wlu.edu

Eastwood, Jonathan

Jonathan Eastwood
Laurent Boetsch Term Professor of Sociology
Newcomb Hall 104
540.458.8777
eastwoodj@wlu.edu

Gildner, Matt

Matt Gildner
Assistant Professor of History
Newcomb 218
540.458.8772
gildnerm@wlu.edu

Colonial Latin America, Modern Latin America, U.S.-Latin America Relations

Lepage, Andrea

Andrea Lepage
Associate Professor of Art History
Wilson 314
540.458.8305
lepagea@wlu.edu

Mayock, Ellen

Ellen Mayock
Ernest Williams II Professor of Spanish
Tucker Hall, Room 305
540.458.8816
mayocke@wlu.edu

The Novel in Spain and Latin America; Literary Naturalism: Women Writers of Spain, Latin America, and the U.S.; Feminist Theory; Immigrant Populations in the U.S.

Michelson, Seth R.

Seth Michelson
Assistant Professor of Spanish
Tucker Hall, Room 307
540.458.8818
michelsons@wlu.edu

Latin American Poetry, Aesthetics, Translation Theory, Feminist Poetics, State Violence, Colonialism, Neoliberalism

Affiliate Faculty

Casey, Jim

Jim Casey
Associate Professor of Economics
Holekamp 119
540.458.8102
caseyj@wlu.edu

Kahn, Jim

Jim Kahn
John F. Hendon Professor of Economics and Professor of Environmental Studies
Holekamp 206
540.458.8036
kahnj@wlu.edu

US-Brazil Exchange Program; Chesapeake Bay Program

Kamara, Mohamed

Mohamed Kamara
Associate Professor of French; Program Chair, Africana Studies
Tucker Hall, Room 303
540.458.8475
kamaram@wlu.edu

Markowitz, Harvey

Harvey Markowitz
Associate Professor of Anthropology
Newcomb 308
540.458.8214
markowitzh@wlu.edu

Miranda, Deborah A.

Deborah A. Miranda
Professor of English
Payne 124
540.458.8755
mirandad@wlu.edu

Poetry; Native American women's literature; literatures of U.S. populations whose work has been traditionally overlooked; indigenous erotics.

Pinto-Bailey, A. Cristina

A. Cristina Pinto-Bailey
Visiting Associate Professor of Spanish and Portuguese
Tucker Hall, Room 320
540.458.8055
pinto-baileyac@wlu.edu

Reiter, Sandy

Sandy Reiter
Darrold and Kay Cannan Associate Term Professor of Business Administration and Head of the Business Administration Department
On leave fall 2018
Holekamp 306
540.458.8223
reiters@wlu.edu

Staff

Richardson, Shirley

Shirley Richardson
Administrative Assistant II
Tucker Hall, Room 308
540.458.8821
srichard@wlu.edu