Faculty and Staff

Program Head

Botta, Mónica

Mónica Botta
Associate Professor of Spanish and Program Head, Latin American and Caribbean Studies
Tucker Hall, Room 313
540.458.8297
bottam@wlu.edu

Latin American Theater, emphasis on the transmission of history and memory in the theater of the Southern Cone. Human rights and post-dictatorial literatures and, Staging in the Academe.

Core Faculty

Barnett, Jeff

Jeff Barnett
S. Blount Mason Jr. Professor of Spanish
Tucker Hall, Room 304
540.458.8950
barnettj@wlu.edu

Latin American Narrative and Cultural Studies, with regional emphasis on Mexican, Central American, and Pan-Caribbean cultures.

Eastwood, Jonathan

Jonathan Eastwood
Professor of Sociology
Newcomb Hall 104
540.458.8777
eastwoodj@wlu.edu

Gildner, Matt

Matt Gildner
Assistant Professor of History
Newcomb 218
540.458.8772
gildnerm@wlu.edu

Colonial Latin America, Modern Latin America, U.S.-Latin America Relations

León, Zoila Ponce de

Zoila Ponce de Leon
Assistant Professor of Politics
Huntley 210
540.458.8575
zponcedeleon@wlu.edu

Lepage, Andrea

Andrea Lepage
Associate Professor of Art History
Wilson 3014
540.458.8305
lepagea@wlu.edu

Mayock, Ellen

Ellen Mayock
Ernest Williams II Professor of Spanish
Tucker Hall, Room 305
540.458.8816
mayocke@wlu.edu

The Novel in Spain and Latin America; Literary Naturalism: Women Writers of Spain, Latin America, and the U.S.; Feminist Theory; Immigrant Populations in the U.S.

Michelson, Seth R.

Seth Michelson
Assistant Professor of Spanish
Tucker Hall, Room 307
540.458.8818
michelsons@wlu.edu

Latin American Poetry, Aesthetics, Translation Theory, Feminist Poetics, State Violence, Colonialism, Neoliberalism

Affiliate Faculty

Baluarte, David

David Baluarte
Associate Clinical Professor of Law and Director, Immigrant Rights Clinic
248 Lewis Hall
baluarted@wlu.edu

Casey, Jim

Jim Casey
Associate Professor of Economics
Holekamp 119
540.458.8102
caseyj@wlu.edu

Kahn, Jim

Jim Kahn
John F. Hendon Professor of Economics and Professor of Environmental Studies
Holekamp 206
540.458.8036
kahnj@wlu.edu

US-Brazil Exchange Program; Chesapeake Bay Program

Kamara, Mohamed

Mohamed Kamara
Associate Professor of French; Program Chair, Africana Studies
Tucker Hall, Room 303
540.458.8475
kamaram@wlu.edu

Markowitz, Harvey

Harvey Markowitz
Associate Professor of Anthropology
Newcomb 308
540.458.8214
markowitzh@wlu.edu

Miranda, Deborah A.

Deborah A. Miranda
Thomas H. Broadus Professor of English
Payne 124
540.458.8755
mirandad@wlu.edu

Poetry; Native American literatures; women's literatures; literatures of U.S. populations whose work has been traditionally overlooked, such as LGBTQ2, Latinx, Appalachian.

Perez, Marcos

Marcos Perez
Assistant Professor of Sociology
225 Newcomb Hall
540-458-8793
mperez@wlu.edu

Pinto-Bailey, A. Cristina

A. Cristina Pinto-Bailey
Visiting Associate Professor of Spanish and Portuguese
Tucker Hall, Room 320
540.458.8055
pinto-baileyac@wlu.edu

Reiter, Sandy

Sandy Reiter
Darrold and Kay Cannan Associate Term Professor of Business Administration and Head of the Business Administration Department
Holekamp 306
540.458.8223
reiters@wlu.edu

Wilson, Ricardo A.

Ricardo A. Wilson II
Assistant Professor of English
On pre-tenure leave 2019-2020
Washington Hall 110
540-458-8377
wilsonr@wlu.edu

Staff

Richardson, Shirley

Shirley Richardson
Administrative Assistant II
Tucker Hall, Room 308
540.458.8821
srichard@wlu.edu