Faculty and Staff

Department Head

Benefiel, Rebecca R.

Rebecca R. Benefiel
Professor of Classics
Tucker Hall 105
540.458.8082
benefielr@wlu.edu

Latin epigraphy, Roman archaeology, Latin literature, Pompeii and Herculaneum

Faculty


Crotty, Kevin

Kevin Crotty
Professor of Classics, The J. Donald Childress Professor in Foreign Languages
Tucker Hall 102
540.458.8910
crottyk@wlu.edu

Mythology, Greek Law, Plato, Ancient Greek literature




Dance, Caleb

Caleb M. X. Dance
Assistant Professor of Classics
Tucker Hall 104
540.458.8312
dancec@wlu.edu

Latin Literature; Laughter and Comic Theory; Genre, Narrative, and Ancient Literary Criticism

Jeffrey Easton
Visiting Assistant Professor of Classics
Tucker Hall 019
540-458-4861
jeaston@wlu.edu

Laughy, Michael H.

Michael Laughy
Boetsch Term Associate Professor of Classics
Tucker Hall 106
540.458.4569
laughym@wlu.edu

Greek Art and Archaeology; Greek Religion; Greek Epigraphy; Ancient Athens



Carras, George P.

George P. Carras
Senior Research Professor (Classical studies, Religion)
434.409.1703
gcarras@wlu.edu

Affiliate Faculty

Bent, George

George Bent
Sidney Gause Childress Professor in the Arts
Wilson Hall 3017
540.458.8863
bentg@wlu.edu

Brown, Alexandra

Alexandra Brown
Fletcher Otey Thomas Professor in Bible
Tucker 206
540.458.8789
browna@wlu.edu

Early Christianity, The Bible

Loar, Matthew

Matthew Loar
Director of Fellowships, Assistant Professor of Classics (Courtesy Appointment)
Simpson House 201
540-458-8748
mloar@wlu.edu

Lubin, Timothy

Timothy Lubin
Professor of Religion and Adjunct Professor of Law
Tucker 204
540.458.8146
lubint@wlu.edu

History of religion and law of South and Southeast Asia, working on texts and inscriptions in Sanskrit, Prakrit, Old Javanese, and Classical Tamil

Emeritus

Carlisle, Miriam

Miriam Carlisle
Associate Professor of Classics
carlislem@wlu.edu

Staff

Ritter, Kerri

Kerri Ritter
Administrative Assistant, Religion and Classics
Tucker 103
540.458.8180
ritterk@wlu.edu