Faculty and Staff

Program Chair

Kamara, Mohamed

Mohamed Kamara
Associate Professor of French; Program Chair, Africana Studies
Tucker Hall, Room 303
540.458.8475
kamaram@wlu.edu

Core Faculty

Blunch, Niels-Hugo

Niels-Hugo Blunch
Professor of Economics
Huntley 113
540.458.8619
blunchn@wlu.edu

Conner, Marc

Marc Conner
Provost and Jo M. and James Ballengee Professor of English
Washington Hall 214
540.458.8702
connerm@wlu.edu

DeLaney, Ted

Ted DeLaney
Professor of History Emeritus
Newcomb Hall 103
540.458.8963
delaneyt@wlu.edu

Colonial North America, Comparative Slavery, African American, Civil Rights, Gay and Lesbian

Gildner, Matt

Matt Gildner
Assistant Professor of History
Newcomb 218
540.458.8772
gildnerm@wlu.edu

Colonial Latin America, Modern Latin America, U.S.-Latin America Relations

Hill, Lena

Lena Hill
Dean of the College and Professor of English and Africana Studies
Simpson House
540.458.8746
lmhill@wlu.edu

Lena Hill was appointed Dean of the College in 2018. She is a Professor of English and Africana Studies. She received her bachelor's from Howard University, her Ph.D. from Yale University and completed postdoctoral work at Duke University.Dean Hill's scholarship and teaching focus on African American literature and visual culture, and she is known internationally as a scholar of Ralph Ellison. In addition to publishing numerous articles and essays, she authored Visualizing Blackness and the Creation of the African American Literary Tradition (Cambridge, 2014), co-edited Invisible Hawkeyes: African Americans at the University of Iowa during the Long Civil rights Era (University of Iowa Press, 2016), and co-authored Ralph Ellison's Invisible Man: A Reference Guide (Greenwood, 2008). She has served on various boards and is currently a member of the Modernist Language Association Publications Committee.As the Dean of the College, Lena has prioritized faculty mentoring and development, the recruitment and retention of diverse faculty, support and growth of interdisciplinary programs, and department and program chairs leadership development. She is a passionate advocate for the liberal arts, sciences and the humanities and as the chief academic officer of the College, she is focused on working with faculty to deliver a dynamic academic experience to students that prepares them to flourish after graduating from W&L.She and her husband Michael, a W&L Professor of Africana Studies and English, live in Lexington with their two children.

Hill, Michael D.

Michael D. Hill
Professor of Africana Studies
On Sabbatical Fall 2019
Tucker Hall, Room 101
540-458-8327
mhill@wlu.edu

Millan, Diego

Diego Millan
Assistant Professor of English
Washington 116
540.458.8759
dmillan@wlu.edu

Morel, Lucas

Lucas Morel
Professor of Politics and Head of the Politics Department
Huntley 121A
540.458.8161
morell@wlu.edu

Wilson, Ricardo A.

Ricardo A. Wilson II
Assistant Professor of English
On pre-tenure leave 2019-2020
Washington Hall 110
540-458-8377
wilsonr@wlu.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Abah, Adedayo 'Dayo'

Adedayo 'Dayo' Abah
Professor of Journalism & Mass Communications
Reid 204
540.458.8077
abahd@wlu.edu

Bond, Johanna

Johanna Bond
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Sydney and Frances Lewis Professor of Law
495 Lewis Hall
bondj@wlu.edu

Chin, Lynn G.

Lynn G. Chin
Associate Professor of Sociology
Newcomb 210
540.458.8791
chinl@wlu.edu

Cowins, Elicia

Elicia Cowins
Assistant Professor of Accounting
Holekamp 217
540.458.8442
cowinse@wlu.edu

Diette, Timothy

Timothy M. Diette
Senior Advisor to the President for Strategic Analysis and Professor of Economics
Washington Hall 205
540.458.8220
diettet@wlu.edu

Sandberg, Stephanie

Stephanie Sandberg
Assistant Professor of Theater
Lenfest Center 309
540.458.8004
sandbergs@wlu.edu

Wheeler, Lesley

Lesley Wheeler
Henry S. Fox Professor of English
Payne 308
540.458.8758
wheelerlm@wlu.edu

Emeritus

Novack, David R.

David R. Novack
Professor Emeritus of Sociology
Newcomb Hall 312
540.548.8792
novackd@wlu.edu

Staff

Richardson, Shirley

Shirley Richardson
Administrative Assistant II
Tucker Hall, Room 308
540.458.8821
srichard@wlu.edu