WLUR Announces 2015-2016 Award Winners Ivory, Russell, Wildes among honorees for contributions to station

WLUR has revealed the winners of its 2015-16 annual awards, with senior Trevin Ivory headlining the group recognized for contributions to station programming and operations during the academic year.

Ivory was the recipient of the Robert J. de Maria Award for Exceptional Staff. Bailey Russell '16 and Katie Wildes '16 earned the General Manager's Service Award, while Meaghan Latella '16 received the Doug Chase Award for Sports Broadcasting, and Michael Robinson '17 won the Douglas J. Harwood Award for Music Programming.

Ivory served as WLUR's traffic director for two years, producing numerous live broadcasts and recording and editing public service announcements and other station promos. He also helped to manage WLUR's live sound equipment through a partnership with the university's Production Club.

Russell worked at the station during all four years of her time at Washington and Lee, starting out as a disc jockey before joining WLUR's public relations committee and becoming the station's web and social media coordinator. Among other contributions, she helped to plan multiple editions of Open Air Waves, WLUR's twice-annual live-broadcast open mic night.

Wildes spent her senior year as the station's sports director, providing commentary for live radio and video coverage of games and recording numerous interviews for athletics broadcasts. Her role included color commentary for volleyball and play-by-play for lacrosse and soccer.

Latella also enhanced the university's athletics coverage in 2015-16, recording and editing student-athlete interviews for live game broadcasts and working as a color commentator for women's lacrosse.

Robinson received the Harwood Award for his weekly show "The Sound", which showcased multiple eras and genres of rock and alternative music.

For more information on WLUR's annual awards, including a list of past winners, please visit the WLUR Annual Awards page.