The Ruth E. Flournoy Theater Endowment

The Ruth E. Flournoy Theatre Endowment was created in 1998 by Mrs. Flournoy as a departmental support fund in honor of her husband, Dan H. Flournoy '64, and her children, Sarah M. Flournoy '97 and John W. Flournoy '99. Return from this endowment annually supports visiting guest artists on campus, including teachers and production support professionals ranging from single performances to residential teaching/performing engagements. Over the years, this generous endowment has supported the artistic and educational mission of the department in various ways. 

For the 2016 - 2017 school year, the Flournoy Theatre Endowment will support The Other Mozart written and performed by Sylvia Milo.

The Other Mozart: There was another Mozart—a forgotten genius, another Mozart: Nannerl, the sister of Amadeus.

“Imagine an eleven-year-old girl, performing the most difficult sonatas and concertos of the greatest composers, on the harpsichord or fortepiano, with precision,with incredible lightness, with impeccable taste. It was a source of wonder to many.”

Little Matchstick Factory's The Other Mozart is the true and untold story of Nannerl Mozart, the sister of Amadeus—a  prodigy,  keyboard virtuoso, and composer, who performed throughout Europe with her brother to equal acclaim, but her work and her story faded away, lost to history.

Created by Sylvia Milo, the monodrama is set in a stunning 18-foot dress (designed by Magdalena Dabrowska from the National Theater of Poland). Directed by Isaac Byrne,  The Other Mozart is based on facts, stories  and  lines  pulled  directly  from  the  Mozart  family’s  humorous  and  heartbreaking letters.


From 2012-2015 The Ruth E. Flournoy Theater Endowment supported the department’s production season by hiring high quality Technical Directors from around the country. They coordinated the artistic work of faculty, guest artists and students to execute the highest caliber productions our department have ever presented.

• 2016 - 2017 The Other Mozart

• 2015-2016 Adam Rapp was the recipient of the Ruth E. Flournoy Theater Endowment.

• 2013-2015 Latiana Gourzong was the recipient of the Ruth E. Flournoy Theater Endowment.

• 2012-2013 Andrew Becker was the recipient of the Ruth E. Flournoy Theater Endowment.

• 2011-2012 Anthony Lawrence was the recipient of the Ruth E. Flournoy Theater Endowment.

Past Playwright Festivals include:

2010-2011: Lucinda McDermott's Feeding on Mulberry Leaves along with several other special performances and events.

2009: Lucy Thurber's Where We're Born, directed by Marquita Robinson ’10.

2009: Christopher Cartmill's ’84 (written and directed by Christopher Cartmill) The Apotheosis of Vaclav Drda, and readings of The Robbers of Madderbloom, and Nebraska Dispatches.

2008: Tom Ziegler's (written and directed by Tom Ziegler) Father Frances.

2006: Paula Vogel's (directed by Tom Ziegler) How I Learned to Drive, and (student directed by Michael Wagoner ’07) The Long Christmas Ride Home, and a reading of Paula Vogel's (directed by Tom Ziegler) The Oldest Profession

2005: Neil LaBute's (directed by Tom Ziegler) The Shape of Things. A Reading of LaBute's Fat Pig, and The Mercy Seat.

2004: Bo Wilson's (directed by Tom Ziegler) War Story, Bo Wilson's (directed by Tom Evans) My Uncle's Business.

2003: Wendy Kesselman's(directed by Tom Ziegler) The Notebook. Readings by Dwayne Yancey Monument Avenue, Brad Hearn's The High Watermark, and Emily Ecton's ’92 Reign of Tara.

2002: Arlene Hutton's Last Train to Nibroc, and John Henry Redwood's No Niggers, No Jews, and No Dogs. Both directed by Tom Ziegler.