Faculty and Staff

Program Director

Pickett, Howard

Howard Pickett
Assistant Professor and Director of the Shepherd Program for the Interdisciplinary Study of Poverty and Human Capability, and Adjunct Professor of Law
picketthy@wlu.edu

Founder

Beckley, Harlan

Harlan Beckley
Executive Director, Shepherd Higher Education Consortium on Poverty (SHECP) and Fletcher Otey Thomas Professor of Religion, Emeritus
Newcomb 312
540.458.8164
beckleyh@wlu.edu

Staff

Davidson, Jenny

Jenny Davidson
Co-curricular Service Coordinator
Mattingly 312
540.458.4669
jdavidson@wlu.edu

Elrod, Fran

Fran Elrod
Associate Director for Community-Based Learning
Mattingly 304
540.458.8230
elrodf@wlu.edu

Frey, Marisa

Marisa Charley
Coordinator for Student Service Leadership and Research
Mattingly 307
540.458.8131
charleym@wlu.edu

Lovell, Wendy

Wendy Lovell
Assistant Director for Community-Based Learning and Communications
Mattingly 310
540.458.8784
wwlovell@wlu.edu

Core Faculty

Brotzman, Kelly

Kelly Brotzman
Visiting Assistant Professor
Mattingly 106
540.458.4593
brotzmank@wlu.edu

Dickovick, Tyler

Tyler Dickovick
Ben and Carol Grigsby Term Professor of Politics
Huntley 121A
540.458.8174
dickovickt@wlu.edu

Diette, Timothy

Timothy Diette
Harry E. and Mary Jayne W. Redenbaugh Term Associate Professor of Economics
Huntley 210
540.458.8220
diettet@wlu.edu

Eastwood, Jonathan

Jonathan Eastwood
Laurent Boetsch Term Professor of Sociology
Newcomb Hall 225
540.458.8777
eastwoodj@wlu.edu

Goldsmith, Arthur

Arthur Goldsmith
Jackson T. Stephens Professor of Economics
Huntley 212
540.458.8970
goldsmitha@wlu.edu

King, John D.

John D. King
Clinical Professor of Law, Director of Experiential Education and Director, Criminal Justice Clinic
Sydney Lewis Hall 381
540.458.8518
kingj@wlu.edu

Miranda, Deborah A.

Deborah A. Miranda
The John Lucian Smith Term Professor of English
Washington 111
540.458.8755
mirandad@wlu.edu

Poetry; Native American women's literature; literatures of U.S. populations whose work has been traditionally overlooked; indigenous erotics.

Murdock, Karla

Karla Murdock
David G. Elmes Professor of Psychology
Parmly Hall 238
540.458.8248
murdockk@wlu.edu

Shaughnessy, Joan

Joan Shaughnessy
Roger D. Groot Professor of Law
Sydney Lewis Hall 488
540.458.8512
shaughnessyj@wlu.edu

Shester, Katharine L.

Katharine L. Shester
Assistant Professor of Economics
Huntley 110
540.458.8607
shesterk@wlu.edu

Taylor, Erin

Erin Taylor
Assistant Professor of Philosophy
Washington Hall 320
taylore@wlu.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Bell, Melina

Melina Bell
Professor of Philosophy and Law
Washington Hall 312
540.458.8899
bellm@wlu.edu

Blunch, Niels-Hugo

Niels-Hugo Blunch
Associate Professor of Economics
Huntley 113
540.458.8619
blunchn@wlu.edu

Casey, Jim

Jim Casey
Associate Professor of Economics
Holekamp 204
540.458.8102
caseyj@wlu.edu

Chin, Lynn G.

Lynn G. Chin
Assistant Professor of Sociology
Newcomb 210
540.458.8791
chinl@wlu.edu

Colón, Aly

Aly Colón
John S. and James L. Knight Professor of Media Ethics
Reid 120
540.458.8433
colona@wlu.edu

D'Alessandro, Kacie

Kacie D'Alessandro
Assistant Professor of Physics and Engineering
Howe 220
540.458.8887
dalessandrok@wlu.edu

Ph.D. in Civil Engineering from Virginia Tech - Research interests include design of concrete structures, ultra-high performance concrete, innovative concrete applications, and engineering education. Current projects involve ultra-high performance concrete, behavior of high strength fiber-reinforced concrete, and natural fibers in concrete mix development.

Goluboff, Sascha L.

Sascha L. Goluboff
Professor of Cultural Anthropology and Head, Department of Sociology and Anthropology
Newcomb 208
540.458.8807
goluboffs@wlu.edu

Guse, Joseph

Joseph Guse
Associate Professor of Economics
Huntley 103
540.458.8915
gusej@wlu.edu

Handy, Chris

Chris Handy
Assistant Professor of Economics
Huntley 112
540.458.8922
handyc@wlu.edu

Harris, Rebecca C.

Rebecca C. Harris
Darrold and Kay Cannan Term Associate Professor of Politics
On leave academic year 2016-17
Huntley 318
540.458.8199
harrisr@wlu.edu

Hess, Andrew M.

Andrew M. Hess
Associate Professor of Business Administration
Huntley 309
540.458.8346
hessa@wlu.edu

Kao, Wan-Chuan

Wan-Chuan Kao
Assistant Professor of English
Payne Hall 214
540.458.8345
kaow@wlu.edu

Markowitz, Harvey

Harvey Markowitz
Associate Professor of Sociology/Anthropology
Newcomb 308
540.458.8214
markowitzh@wlu.edu

Michelmore, Molly

Molly Michelmore
Associate Professor of History
Newcomb Hall 221
540.458.8779
michelmorem@wlu.edu

Twentieth Century U.S. Political, Cultural and Social

Moffa, Eric D.

Eric D. Moffa, Ed.D.
Visiting Assistant Professor of Education
Newcomb 107
moffae@wlu.edu

Novack, David R.

David R. Novack
Professor of Sociology
Newcomb Hall 104
540.548.8792
novackd@wlu.edu

Lenna P. Ojure
Assistant Professor of Education
Newcomb Hall 109
540.458.8249
ojurel@wlu.edu

Reiter, Sandy

Sandy Reiter
Associate Professor of Business Administration
Holekamp 306
540.458.8223
reiters@wlu.edu

Shay, Jeffrey P.

Jeffrey P. Shay
Rupert A. Johnson, Jr. Professor of Entrepreneurship and Leadership
Hopkins House 202
540.458.8280
shayj@wlu.edu

Sigler, Haley

Haley Sigler, Ph.D.
Director of Teacher Education, Associate Professor
Newcomb Hall 107
540.458.8284
siglerh@wlu.edu

Silwal, Shikha

Shikha Silwal
Assistant Professor of Economics
Huntley 114
540.458.8256
silwals@wlu.edu

Smith, Angela

Angela Smith
Roger Mudd Professor of Ethics and Professor of Philosophy
Mattingly House 209
540.458.4073
smitha@wlu.edu