The S. Blount Mason Jr. Professorship James P. Warren

The S. Blount Mason Jr. Professorship was established in 1973 in memory of Mr. Mason, Class of 1905, a Baltimore insurance executive, who died in 1969. The endowment for the chair came from trusts created by Mr. Mason and his wife to benefit, after their deaths, certain charities in which they were interested.

Current S. Blount Mason Jr. Professor:
James P. Warren, Professor of English
Ph.D., Yale University
B.A., Auburn University

Dabney Stuart, Professor of English (retired 2002)
Sidney Mathias Baxter Coulling, Professor of English (retired 1991)