President's Commission on Institutional History and Community

President's Commission on Institutional History and Community appointed by the President to  lead us in an examination of how our history — and the ways that we teach, discuss and represent it — shapes our community. One of its first tasks will be to refine the scope of the work, determining how to involve interested community members and gathering input on the important questions that we need to examine. One such question is how we can best present our physical campus to take full advantage of its educational potential in a manner that is consistent with our core values.

The commission will create various opportunities to engage in conversation with all corners of the community. It will also meet with existing groups whose ongoing work relates to some of these issues, including the Working Group on the History of African-Americans at W&L, the University Committee on Inclusiveness and Campus Climate, and the University Collections of Art and History Advisory Committee. This commission and its work will set a national example by demonstrating how the divisive issues confronting us can be addressed thoughtfully and effectively. That is what a university should do, and it is especially what Washington and Lee should do.

Please send comments and suggestions to so that they are available for the entire commission to review. The commission will keep the community apprised of its work through a website.

Brian Murchison, Chair

Theodore (Ted) DeLaney '85, Associate Professor of History
Melissa Kerin, Associate Professor of Art History
Brian Murchison, Charles S. Rowe Professor of Law and Law Alumni Association Fellow in Teaching Excellence

Elizabeth Mugo '19, Irmo, S.C., Executive Committee Vice President
Heeth Varnedoe '19, Thomasville, Ga., Junior Class Representative to the Executive Committee
Daniele San Roman '19L, Port Jefferson Station, N.Y., Law Strategic Planning Task Force

Thomas Camden '76, Head of Special Collections & Archives, University Library
Mary Main, Executive Director of Human Resources
Trenya Mason '05L, Director of Law Student Affairs

Cynthia Cheatham '07, Washington, D.C., Alumni Board Member
Mike McGarry '87, Charlotte, N.C., Alumni Board President
Philip Norwood '69, Charlotte, N.C., Rector Emeritus of the Board of Trustees