Honorary Degrees (created by the Board)

The By-laws define the duties and composition of the committee as follows: "The President's Advisory Committee and the Rector of the Board shall constitute a Committee on Honorary Degrees which shall be chaired by the Provost. The Board, on its own initiative or upon recommendation of the Committee, may from time to time grant such honorary degrees as it deems proper, and must approve honorary degree recipients."

Marc Conner, Chair

Ex Officio Members:

  • Donald Childress, Rector of the Board of Trustees
  • Marc Conner, Interim Provost
  • Brant Hellwig, Dean of the School of Law
  • Suzanne Keen, Dean of The College
  • Robert Straughan, Dean of the Williams School

Advisory Committee Members:

  • Alexandra Brown, Professor, Religion - 2015-2018
  • Angela Smith, Professor, Roger Mudd Center for Ethics - 2015-2018
  • Alison Bell, Associate Professor, Sociology and Anthropology - 2015-2018
  • Joan (Shaun) Shaughnessy (LS) - 2016-2018 (serving as alternate for Susan Franck, Professor of Law - 2015-2018)
  • Fred LaRiviere, Associate Professor, Chemistry - 2016-2019
  • Sandy Reiter, Associate Professor of Business Administration - 2016-2019
  • Jonathan Eastwood, Professor, Sociology and Anthropology - 2017-2020
  • Genelle Gertz, Professor, English - 2017-2020
  • Irina Mazilu, Professor, Physics and Engineering - 2017-2020