Quality Enhancement Plan

Every 10 years W&L undergoes accreditation by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). The Quality Enhancement Plan, or QEP, is a vital component of this process that affirms the centrality of student learning at the heart of our mission, but that also acknowledges that, in keeping with our motto of NON IN CAUTUS FUTURI, our institution refuses to rest on its laurels. Simply put, determining the QEP gives our community the opportunity to look to the future and imagine an idea that both improves upon the undergraduate student experience and moves our institution forward.

Students, faculty, and staff are invited to contribute to the process this spring by proposing campus-wide initiatives for consideration as our next QEP. The process, we hope, will stimulate conversations across campus about innovative ways to enhance student learning, as well as generate ideas about the kind of teaching and support we can provide to further them. Ideally, our broadly based QEP will impact the entire university community.

Help us imagine the future of W&L.

Selection Timeline

  • Proposal Submission Phase – We want your ideas. Submit by May 1, 2017.
  • Review and Refinement Phase – Committee will select 12-15 ideas for further development. Through September 1, 2017.
  • Final Selection Phase – Committee will choose 3 final proposals for submission to President and Provost by December 1, 2017.

Past QEPs

Please feel free to review Washington and Lee's previous QEP: Revitalizing the Spring Term, as well as examples from other universities.

QEP Selection Committee

  • Elizabeth Knapp (chair), Director of the Johnson Programs, Professor of Geology
  • George Bent, The Sidney Gause Childress Professor of Art
  • Mikki Brock, Assistant Professor of British History
  • Stephan Fafatas, Lawrence Associate Professor of Accounting
  • Julie Knudson, Director of Academic Technologies
  • Fred LaRiviere, Associate Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Elizabeth LeRose, Associate Director of Athletics, Associate Professor
  • David Leonard, Dean of Student Life
  • Wendy Lovell, Assistant Director for Community-Based Learning & Communications, Shepherd Program
  • Trenya Mason, Director of Law Student Affairs
  • Wilson Miller, Class of 2017, President of the Student Body
  • Jane Stewart, Energy Specialist
  • Alecia Swasy, Reynolds Professor of Business Journalism