Spring Term Travel Courses Resources for spring term travel courses

Vehicle Use Policy

This policy is intended to promote safe operation of vehicles used to transport University faculty, staff, and students on University business, and to clarify insurance coverage for vehicle damages.

Student Health Advice
Student Health On The Road, Best Practices (Dr. Jane Horton)

Be Prepared / Proactive

• Ask students to make you aware of chronic health issues that may be exacerbated by travel (such as diabetes, inflammatory bowel disease, asthma/allergies, mental health conditions) - respect confidentiality of personal health information
• Ask students to make you aware of significant food or other allergies that might require emergency treatment
• Ask students to make you aware of any special dietary needs
• Medications: Students should have sufficient supply, kept securely: If a med is lost or runs out, the student should contact the prescriber and provide pharmacy information for a new prescription
• Health insurance information: Students should have insurance cards with them, contact the SHC 24/7 if needed
• Emergency contact / family contact information: Should be available for each student, contact the SHC 24/7 if needed

• Anticipate and inform about foreseeable health and safety risks
    • Weather - sun, heat, cold, rain, etc.
    • Injuries - hiking, other risky activities
    • Critters - bee/wasp sting allergies, poisonous snakes, spiders, scorpions, etc.
    • Alcohol/drugs - set clear expectations ahead of time
    • Separation from the group - use the buddy system
    • Crime risks
    • Other???

Watch For Warning Signs Of Developing Problems

• Signs of illness (fever, cough, vomiting, etc.), injury
• Changes in mood, behavior, appearance
• Weight loss, not eating with the group
• Alcohol or other substance use/abuse
• Interactions with others in the group
• Check in with a student if you have concerns about their health

RESPOND APPROPRIATELY IF PROBLEMS ARISE
• Know how/where to access healthcare services while travelling: Urgent Care Center, Hospital ER, 911 for emergencies
• First Aid kit for minor illness/injury: Do you want to carry one, or expect students to be prepared to treat minor problems?
• Contact Student Health Center for nurse advice or to speak to a medical or counseling provider - 540-458-8401; Open 24/7 from 9 AM Sunday, 4/26/15 through 5 PM Thursday, 5/28/15
• In an emergency situation utilize appropriate local resources and contact W&L

DOCUMENT WHAT HAPPENED AND WHAT YOU DID
• Who, what, when, where, how, why of the situation
• Your response / actions to the situation
• Your communications to any authorities (police, healthcare)
• Notification of the University
• Notification of emergency / family contacts

STUDENT HEALTH CENTER, 540-458-8401, open 24/7 from 9 AM Sunday, 4/26 til 5 PM Thursday, 5/28
Jane Horton, MD jhorton@wlu.edu
Matt Crance, PA-C mcrance@wlu.edu
COUNSELING CENTER, 540-458-8590, open 9-5, Mon-Fri, access the Counselor on call 24/7 via SHC
Christy Barongan, PhD cbarongan@wlu.edu
Janet Boller, PsyD jboller@wlu.edu
Kirk Luder, MD kluder@wlu.edu
Rallie Snowden, LCSW rsnowden@wlu.edu