University Board of Appeals (faculty)

University Board of Appeals (UBA) is chaired by the Dean of Students and hears all appeals from the student conduct process filed by individuals, groups, or the University Official, with the exception of appeals from the Executive Committee of the Student Body. Two Undergraduate Faculty and two Law Faculty are elected for two-year terms, from among those not on the Student Affairs Committee, with initial faculty appointments staggered to assure that no more than one of each will rotate off in a particular year. Alternate members for University Board of Appeals shall be elected at the same time as members are elected. There shall be two alternates, decided as the first runners-up in the election of members, one from the undergraduate faculty and one from the law faculty. Alternates will serve in the event a board member needs to resign or recuse, or cannot participate in a hearing due to unforeseen circumstances. Six student representatives (one undergraduate junior, two undergraduate seniors, one second-year law, two third-year law) are appointed by the Executive Committee of the Student Body each year for a one-year term.

The Student Affairs site for the board is at

Sidney Evans, Chair

Ex Officio Member:
Sidney Evans, VP for Student Affairs and Dean of Students

Four Faculty representatives - Elected annually for two-year terms:
Deborah Miranda - 2014-2016
Sarah (Sally) Wiant (LS) - 2014-2016
Matthew Tuchler - 2015-2017
Timothy Macdonnell (LS) - 2015-2017

Two Faculty alternates - Elected for two-year terms:
Scott Hoover - 2014-2016
Susan Franck (LS) - 2014-2016

Student representatives - Appointed annually for a one-year term:
Law 3rd-year representative: Jennifer Harrington '16L - 2015-2016
Law 3rd-year representative: Angela Kerins '16L - 2015-2016
Law 2nd-year representative: Atansio Fernandez '17L - 2015-2016
Undergraduate senior representative: Thomas Johnson '16 - 2015-2016
Undergraduate senior representative: Bailey Russell '16 - 2015-2016
Undergraduate junior representative: Daniel Johnson '17 - 2015-2016