International Education

International Education Committee reports to the Provost and comprises 15 individuals, with eight members appointed by the Provost and seven ex officio members. The Provost appoints six undergraduate faculty members (four from The College, including one from the departments teaching modern foreign languages, and two from the Williams School) and two undergraduate students recommended by the Student EC (including one international student recommended by SAIL). The ex officio members are: Associate Dean of The College, Associate Dean of the Williams School, University Registrar, and from the Center for International Education, the Director, Associate Director, Study Abroad Adviser, and Program Coordinator. The committee's responsibilities include working with the Director of International Education; coordinating and consulting on matters of mutual interest; and providing a faculty voice and general oversight on matters pertaining to study abroad and other international education issues as brought up by the Director, the Deans, and the Provost. Academic and policy recommendations will be sent to the faculty and/or administration through the usual process on:

  • academic matters pertaining to study abroad, including spring-term abroad
  • new program initiatives and development
  • general policy issues including financial considerations, safety and liability issues, credit transfer, etc.
  • curricular and extra-curricular issues intrinsic to international education
  • Student Association for International Learning (SAIL)
  • international-student concerns

Mohamed Kamara, Chair

Ex Officio Members:
Raquel Alexander, Associate Dean of the Williams School
Katherine (Kip) Brooks, Study Abroad Adviser, as committee secretary
Latha Dawson, Program Coordinator, International Education
Scott Dittman, University Registrar
Marcia France, Associate Dean of The College
Amy Richwine, Associate Director of International Education
Mark Rush, Director of International Education

Six Appointed Faculty Members - One annually for 4-year terms:
George Bent - 2016-2017 (replacing Irina Mazilu - 2014-2018)
Niels-Hugo Blunch (WS) - 2015-2019
Megan Hess (WS) - 2015-2019
Richard Bidlack - 2016-2020
Mohamed Kamara - 2016-2020
Yanhong Zhu - 2016-2020

Two Students (one an international student recommended by SAIL) nominated by the Student EC, appointed by the President:
EC Nominee: Andrew Coats '18 - 2016-2017
SAIL Nominee: Kenta Sayama '19 (winter & spring), Uma Sarwadnya '19 (fall) - 2016-2017