Root Lecture Series and Invited Speakers

The Root Lecture Series

Robert W. Root '42 established a special endowment in 1991 to support an annual lecture series on the mind. Guest speakers are selected on a rotating basis by the departments of Philosophy, Psychology, and Religion. Root Lectures for the Philosophy Department have been given by:

2015 Jesse Prinz (CUNY Graduate Center)

2014 Linda Martín Alcoff (Hunter College and CUNY Graduate Center)

2011 Frans de Waal (Emory University)

2008 Rebecca Lilly

2005 Paul Churchland (University of California at San Diego)

2002 Colin McGinn (Rutgers University)


Philosophy 399: Living Philosopher

Click above to see the list of PHIL 399 Speakers.


Invited Speakers

The Philosophy Department invites numerous speakers to campus. Previous speakers include:

2014   Tyler Burge (UCLA)

        Tracey Lupher (JMU)

2013   Morris Berman (formerly, University of Victoria)

         Michael Ignatieff (University of Toronto and Harvard University)

         Chauncey Maher (Dickinson College)

         Michael Cholbi (Cal Poly Pomona)

         Charles Taylor (McGill University)

         Alia Al-Saji (McGill University) 

         David Sylvester (Contribute2)

         Matthew Lister (Villanova University School of Law)

2012   Antonia LoLordo (UVA)

2011   Roger Crisp (St. Anne's College, Oxford / Boston University)

2010   Lisa Guenther (Vanderbilt University)
         Mary Kate McGowan (Wellesley College)
         James Mattingly (Georgetown University)
         James Petrick (Ohio University)

2009   Dan Devereux (University of Virginia)

2008   Andrew Light (George Mason University)
         Nancy Sherman (Georgetown University)
         Georges Dicker (SUNY-Brockport)
         Daniel Markovits (Yale Law School)

2004   Jeff McMahan (Rutgers University)

2003   Susan Wolf (UNC-Chapel Hill)
         Jesse Prinz (CUNY Graduate Center)

2002   Bernard Gert (Dartmouth University)
         Joseph Neisser (Radford University)