First-Gen College Graduates

Our support for First-Gen students come from a good place - within our own ranks. There are faculty and staff members within the W&L community who themselves were first generation college student and they are available as a resource and support structure for others. 

First Generation College Graduates

Alexander, Brian

Brian Alexander
Assistant Professor of Politics
On leave Fall Term
Huntley 320
540.458.8054
alexanderb@wlu.edu

Alty, Lisa

Lisa Alty
John T. Herwick, M.D. Professor of Chemistry
On Sabbatical Fall 2019
540.458.8927
altyl@wlu.edu

Anderson, Michael

Michael Anderson
Robert E. Sadler, Jr. Professor of Economics
Huntley 313
540.458.8971
andersonm@wlu.edu

Barnett, Jeff

Jeff Barnett
S. Blount Mason Jr. Professor of Spanish
Tucker Hall, Room 304
540.458.8950
barnettj@wlu.edu

Bowers, Sarah

Sarah Bowers
Compensation and Recruitment Analyst
2 S Main B05A
540.458.8579
sbowers@wlu.edu

Tom Camden
Associate Professor, Head of Special Collections & Archives
James G. Leyburn Library 118
(540) 458-8649
camdent@wlu.edu

Carr, Brittany

Brittany Carr
Administrative Assistant
Science Addition A330A
540.458.8872
bcarr@wlu.edu

Kerri Chapman
Director of Enterprise Systems and Integration Services
Davis Hall 307
(540) 458-8426
kchapman@wlu.edu

Colbert, Cory

Cory Colbert
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Chavis Hall 102
540.458.8655
ccolbert@wlu.edu

Compton, Chris

Chris Compton
Laboratory Technician II
Howe Hall 215
540.458.8850
comptonc@wlu.edu

Desjardins, Steve

Steve Desjardins
Professor of Chemistry
Science Addition A330B
540.458.8873
desjardins@wlu.edu

Diette, Timothy

Timothy M. Diette
Senior Advisor to the President for Strategic Analysis and Professor of Economics
Washington Hall 205
540.458.8220
diettet@wlu.edu

Finch, Carrie

Carrie Finch-Smith
Associate Professor of Mathematics
Chavis Hall 207
540.458.8209
finchc@wlu.edu

Friend, Kyle

Kyle Friend
Assistant Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Science Addition A427
540.458.8616
friendk@wlu.edu

Fuentes, Freddy

Freddy Fuentes
Visiting Assistant Professor of English
Payne 309
540.458.4990
fuentesf@wlu.edu

Futrell, Tamara

Tamara Futrell
Dean for Diversity, Inclusion and Student Engagement
Elrod Commons 243
540.458.8766
tfutrell@wlu.edu

Garvis, Dennis M.

Dennis M. Garvis
Professor of Business Administration
Huntley 308
540.458.8069
garvisd@wlu.edu

Gaylord, Donald

Donald Gaylord
Research Archaeologist and Instructor of Anthropology
Newcomb 204
540.458.8378
gaylordd@wlu.edu

Goodwin, Kelsey

Kelsey Goodwin
Director of Student Activities
Elrod Commons 254
540.458.5000
kgoodwin@wlu.edu

Hobbs, Megan

Megan Hobbs
Associate Dean of Students, Dean of Sophomores and Dean of Juniors
Elrod Commons 232
540.458.4408
mhobbs@wlu.edu

I'Anson, Helen

Helen I'Anson
John T. Perry Professor of Biology and Research Science
Howe 405
540.458.8974
iansonh@wlu.edu

Irani, Afshad

Afshad Irani
Professor of Accounting and Head of the Accounting Department
Holekamp 109
540.458.8628
irania@wlu.edu

Irby, Cindy

Cindy Irby
Assistant Director, Study Abroad Advisor
Center for Global Learning 143
(540) 458-8193
cirby@wlu.edu

Jan Kaufman
Director of Health Promotion
Elrod Univ Commons 250
(540) 458-4501
jkaufman@wlu.edu

Knudson, Julie

Julie Knudson
Director of Academic Technologies
James G. Leyburn Library M35
(540) 458-8125
jmknudson@wlu.edu

LaRiviere, Fred

Fred LaRiviere
Associate Dean of the College, Academic Affairs and Associate Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Simpson House
540.458.8746
larivieref@wlu.edu

Laughy, Michael H.

Michael Laughy
Boetsch Term Associate Professor of Classics
Tucker Hall 106
540.458.4569
laughym@wlu.edu

Loughhead, Grace

Grace Loughhead
Associate Director of Admissions
gloughhead@wlu.edu

Trenya Mason
Assistant Dean, Law Student Affairs Law School
Sydney Lewis Hall 528
(540) 458-8162
masont@wlu.edu

Millan, Diego

Diego Millan
Assistant Professor of English
Washington 116
540.458.8759
dmillan@wlu.edu

Miranda, Deborah A.

Deborah A. Miranda
Thomas H. Broadus Professor of English
Payne 124
540.458.8755
mirandad@wlu.edu

Morel, Lucas

Lucas Morel
Professor of Politics and Head of the Politics Department
Huntley 121A
540.458.8161
morell@wlu.edu

Myers, Barton A.

Barton A. Myers
Class of 1960 Professor of Ethics and History (Term 2019-2022) and Associate Professor of Civil War History
Newcomb 223
540.458.8776
myersb@wlu.edu

Nair, Lindsey

Lindsey Nair
Director of Content Development
7 Courthouse Square #215
540.458.8235
lnair@wlu.edu

Olan, Lorri

Lorri Olan
Associate Director of Career and Professional Development and Pre-Law Advising Coordinator
Elrod Commons 304
540.458.8591
olanl@wlu.edu

Eric J. Owsley
Director of Digital Strategy
7 Courthouse Square #209
540.458.8530
owsleye@wlu.edu

Nick Perrotta
Assistant Coach
(540) 458-8686
nperrotta@wlu.edu

Reid, Chris

Chris Reid
Director of Residence Life
Elrod Commons 233
540.458.4070
creid@wlu.edu

Rodocker, Jason L.

Jason L. Rodocker
Associate Dean of Students and Dean for First-Year Experience
Elrod Commons 245
540.458.8753
jrodocker@wlu.edu

Sigler, Haley

Haley Sigler, Ph.D.
Director of Teacher Education, Associate Professor
Newcomb Hall 109
540.458.8284
siglerh@wlu.edu

Swanson, Hunter

Hunter Swanson
Associate Director, International Student Advisor
Center for Global Learning 142
(540) 458-8144
(540) 550-4270 (for emergencies)
hswanson@wlu.edu

Volant, Lora R.

Lora R. Volant
Senior Residential Life Office Coordinator
Elrod Commons 227
540.458.8405
lvolant@wlu.edu

Wheeler, Lesley

Lesley Wheeler
Henry S. Fox Professor of English
Payne 308
540.458.8758
wheelerlm@wlu.edu

Woodzicka, Julie

Julie Woodzicka
Abigail Grigsby Urquhart Professor of Cognitive and Behavioral Science
Parmly Hall 240
540.458.8834
woodzickaj@wlu.edu

Youngman, Paul

Paul Youngman
Associate Provost and Redenbaugh Professor of German
Washington Hall 217
(540) 458-8705
youngmanp@wlu.edu