First-Gen Faculty and Staff

Our support for First-Gen students come from a good place - within our own ranks. There are faculty and staff members within the W&L community who themselves were first generation college student and they are available as a resource and support structure for others. 

First Generation Faculty and Staff

Alexander, Brian

Brian Alexander
Assistant Professor of Politics
Huntley 320
540.458.8054
alexanderb@wlu.edu

Anderson, Michael

Michael Anderson
Robert E. Sadler, Jr. Professor of Economics
Huntley 313
540.458.8971
andersonm@wlu.edu

Barnett, Jeff

Jeff Barnett
Professor of Spanish and Program Head, Latin American and Caribbean Studies
Tucker Hall, Room 304
540.458.8950
barnettj@wlu.edu

Latin American Narrative and Cultural Studies, with regional emphasis on Mexican, Central American, and Pan-Caribbean cultures.

Desjardins, Steve

Steve Desjardins
Professor of Chemistry
Science Addition A330B
540.458.8873
desjardins@wlu.edu

Diette, Timothy

Tim Diette
Associate Dean of the Williams School and Harry E. and Mary Jayne W. Redenbaugh Associate Term Professor of Economics
Huntley 210
540.458.8220
diettet@wlu.edu

Carrie Finch
Associate Professor of Mathematics
Robinson Hall 207
540.458.8209
finchc@wlu.edu

Robinson Hall 207

Friend, Kyle

Kyle Friend
Assistant Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Science Addition A427
540.458.8616
friendk@wlu.edu

Futrell, Tamara

Tamara Futrell
Associate Dean of Students and Dean of Seniors
Elrod Commons 243
540.458.8766
tfutrell@wlu.edu

Garvis, Dennis M.

Dennis M. Garvis
Professor of Business Administration
Huntley 213
540.458.8069
garvisd@wlu.edu

Gaylord, Donald

Donald Gaylord
Research Archaeologist and Instructor of Anthropology
Newcomb 204
540.458.8378
gaylordd@wlu.edu

Goodwin, Kelsey

Kelsey Goodwin
Director of Student Activities
Elrod Commons 249
540.458.5000
kgoodwin@wlu.edu

Herbert, Rick

Rick Herbert
Adjunct Professor of Business Administration
Holekamp 005
540.458.8719
herbertr@wlu.edu

Hobbs, Megan

Megan Hobbs
Associate Dean of Students and Dean of Sophomores
Elrod Commons 232
540.458.4408
mhobbs@wlu.edu

I'Anson, Helen

Helen I'Anson
John T. Perry Professor of Biology and Research Science
Howe 405
540.458.8974
iansonh@wlu.edu

Irani, Afshad

Afshad Irani
Professor of Accounting
Holekamp 109
540.458.8628
irania@wlu.edu

LaRiviere, Fred

Fred LaRiviere
Associate Professor of Chemistry
Science Addition A429
540.458.8257
larivieref@wlu.edu

Laughy, Michael H.

Michael H. Laughy, Jr.
Assistant Professor of Classics
Tucker Hall 106
540.458.4569
laughym@wlu.edu

Loughhead, Grace

Grace Loughhead
Associate Director of Admissions
gloughhead@wlu.edu

Miranda, Deborah A.

Deborah A. Miranda
Professor of English
On leave 2017-2018
Payne 124
540.458.8755
mirandad@wlu.edu

Poetry; Native American women's literature; literatures of U.S. populations whose work has been traditionally overlooked; indigenous erotics.

Morel, Lucas

Lucas Morel
Professor of Politics and Head of the Politics Department
Huntley 120
540.458.8161
morell@wlu.edu

Myers, Barton A.

Barton A. Myers
Associate Professor of History
On Sabbatical 2017-2018
Newcomb 223
540.458.8776
myersb@wlu.edu

American Civil War, War and Society, U.S. South, Public History

Olan, Lorri

Lorri Olan
Associate Director of Career and Professional Development and Pre-Law Advising Coordinator
Elrod Commons 304
540.458.8591
olanl@wlu.edu

Eric J. Owsley
Director of Digital Strategy
7 Courthouse Square #209
540.458.8530
owsleye@wlu.edu

Responsibilities: Application development and information architecture.

Rodocker, Jason L.

Jason L. Rodocker
Associate Dean of Students and Dean for First-Year Experience
Elrod Commons 245
540.458.8753
jrodocker@wlu.edu

Sigler, Haley

Haley Sigler, Ph.D.
Director of Teacher Education, Associate Professor
Newcomb Hall 109
540.458.8284
siglerh@wlu.edu

Wheeler, Lesley

Lesley Wheeler
Henry S. Fox Professor of English
Payne 308
540.458.8758
wheelerlm@wlu.edu

Woodzicka, Julie

Julie Woodzicka
Abigail Grigsby Urquhart Professor of Psychology
Parmly 232
540.458.8834
woodzickaj@wlu.edu

Youngman, Paul

Paul Youngman
Professor of German
Center for Global Learning 241
(540) 458-8828
youngmanp@wlu.edu