Peer Counseling

Need a listening ear? The Peer Counseling Program is a team of student volunteers dedicated to helping other students experiencing any kind of emotional problems. Recognizing that students often feel most comfortable talking with friends about life issues, the Peer Counselors receive extensive training on how to help other students. They are not therapists, but act as friends who are knowledgeable about the kinds of emotional issues affecting students and campus resources.

These caring and committed campus leaders go through a week-long training in the early fall and then participate in an ongoing monthly training program throughout the year. They learn about depression, anxiety, eating issues, grief, relationship issues, alcohol and substance problems, academic problems, and trauma. They learn how to listen without judging, and keep all contacts confidential (except for situations where there a student is at risk of harm, when they get consultation from the University Counselor on-call).

Peer Counselors team up with RAs on each hall to help first-year students make a successful adjustment to W&L, but are also available to upper class students. The PCs want to be there for you whether your issue is large or small; if you are a W&L student experiencing any kind of life difficulty and want support from a peer you can contact any of the PCs any time, either by email from the list below or by phone using the numbers on the Peer Counseling posters around campus.

Kirk Luder
kluder@wlu.edu

Staff Advisor

Michael Sullivan
sullivanm18@mail.wlu.edu

Head Peer Counselor & Honor Peer Counselor

Will Shannon
shannonw19@mail.wlu.edu

Assistant Head Peer Counselor

Harleigh Bean
beanh18@mail.wlu.edu

Charlotte Braverman
bravermanc18@mail.wlu.edu

Elizabeth Camerota
camerotae19@mail.wlu.edu

Morgan Dalton
daltonm19@mail.wlu.edu

Jackson Ellis
ellisj19@mail.wlu.edu

Elizabeth French
frenche18@mail.wlu.edu

Ethiopia Getachew
getachewe19@mail.wlu.edu

Marshall Howerton
howertonm20@mail.wlu.edu

Jimmie Johnson
johnsonjm20@mail.wlu.edu

Thomas Joyner
joynert18@mail.wlu.edu

Catherine Latour
latourc20@mail.wlu.edu

Claire Mackin
mackinc20@mail.wlu.edu

Gabriella Miggins
migginsg19@mail.wlu.edu

Rebecca Morris
morrisr18@mail.wlu.edu

Prakriti Pranthi
pranthio20@mail.wlu.edu

Parker Robertson
robertsonp20@mail.wlu.edu

Teresa Rodrigues
rodriguest19@mail.wlu.edu

Kassie Scott
scottk18@mail.wlu.edu

Joelle Simeu
simeuj20@mail.wlu.edu

Bowen Spottswood
spotswoodb18@mail.wlu.edu

Bryan Stieneker
stienekerj19@mail.wlu.edu