Peer Counseling

Need a listening ear? The Peer Counseling Program is a team of student volunteers dedicated to helping other students experiencing any kind of emotional problems. Recognizing that students often feel most comfortable talking with friends about life issues, the Peer Counselors receive extensive training on how to help other students. They are not therapists, but act as friends who are knowledgeable about the kinds of emotional issues affecting students and campus resources.

These caring and committed campus leaders go through a week-long training in the early fall and then participate in an ongoing monthly training program throughout the year. They learn about depression, anxiety, eating issues, grief, relationship issues, alcohol and substance problems, academic problems, and trauma. They learn how to listen without judging, and keep all contacts confidential (except for situations where there a student is at risk of harm, when they get consultation from the University Counselor on-call).

Peer Counselors team up with RAs on each hall to help first-year students make a successful adjustment to W&L, but are also available to upper class students. The PCs want to be there for you whether your issue is large or small; if you are a W&L student experiencing any kind of life difficulty and want support from a peer you can contact any of the PCs any time, either by email from the list below or by phone using the numbers on the Peer Counseling posters around campus.

Kirk Luder
kluder@mail.wlu.edu
Staff Advisor

Myers McGarry
mcgarrye16@mail.wlu.edu
Head PC
EC designate peer counselor for students undergoing Honor Hearing

Kate Sarfert
sarfertk17@mail.wlu.edu
Assistant Head PC
EC designate peer counselor for students undergoing Honor Hearing

Harleigh Bean
beanh18@mail.wlu.edu
Special interest and experience in diversity issues

Charlotte Braverman
bravermanc18@mail.wlu.edu

Lindsay DeMuth
demuthl17@mail.wlu.edu

Elizabeth French
frenche18@mail.wlu.edu

Sam Gibson
gibsons17@mail.wlu.edu
Special interest and experience in diversity issues

Hannah Gillmore
gilmoreh16@mail.wlu.edu

Thomas Joyner
joynert18@mail.wlu.edu

Michael Sullivan
sullivanm18@mail.wlu.edu
EC designate peer counselor for students undergoing Honor Hearing

Payson Miller
millerw16@mail.wlu.edu

Rebecca Morris
morrisr18@mail.wlu.edu

Ashley Oakes
oakesa17@mail.wlu.edu

Elizabeth Powell
powelle16@mail.wlu.edu

Powell Robinson
robinsonp17@mail.wlu.edu

Bowen Spottswood
spottswoodb18@mail.wlu.edu

Anna Russell Thornton
thorntona18@mail.wlu.edu

Hermione Wang
wangy18@mail.wlu.edu
Special interest and experience in diversity issues

Brennon Williams
williamsb17@mail.wlu.edu

Araba Wubah
wubaha17@mail.wlu.edu
Special interest and experience in diversity issues