Peer Counseling

Need a listening ear? The Peer Counseling Program is a team of student volunteers dedicated to helping other students experiencing any kind of emotional problems. Recognizing that students often feel most comfortable talking with friends about life issues, the Peer Counselors receive extensive training on how to help other students. They are not therapists, but act as friends who are knowledgeable about the kinds of emotional issues affecting students and campus resources.

These caring and committed campus leaders go through a week-long training in the early fall and then participate in an ongoing monthly training program throughout the year. They learn about depression, anxiety, eating issues, grief, relationship issues, alcohol and substance problems, academic problems, and trauma. They learn how to listen without judging, and keep all contacts confidential (except for situations where there a student is at risk of harm, when they get consultation from the University Counselor on-call).

Peer Counselors team up with RAs on each hall to help first-year students make a successful adjustment to W&L, but are also available to upper class students. The PCs want to be there for you whether your issue is large or small; if you are a W&L student experiencing any kind of life difficulty and want support from a peer you can contact any of the PCs any time, either by email from the list below or by phone using the numbers on the Peer Counseling posters around campus.

Kirk Luder
kluder@wlu.edu

Staff Advisor

Peer Counselors
ImageCounselorEmailTitle
Will Shannon Will Shannon shannonw19@mail.wlu.edu Head PC, EC PC
Rose Maxwell Rose Maxwell maxwellr20@mail.wlu.edu Assistant Head PC, EC PC
Mikey Barro Mikey Barro barroa19@mail.wlu.edu SJC PC
Morgan Dalton Morgan Dalton daltonm19@mail.wlu.edu
Ethiopia Getachew Ethiopia Getachew getachewe19@mail.wlu.edu Diversity PC
Alex Farley Alex Farley farleya19@mail.wlu.edu
Bryan Stieneker Bryan Stieneker stienekerj19@mail.wlu.edu
Elizabeth Camerota Elizabeth Camerota camerotae19@mail.wlu.edu
Jackson Ellis Jackson Ellis ellisj19@mail.wlu.edu
Gabriella Miggins Gabriella Miggins migginsg19@mail.wlu.edu
Ella Rose Ella Rose rosee19@mail.wlu.edu
Claire Mackin Claire Mackin mackinc20@mail.wlu.edu
Bri Karpowich Bri Karpowich karpowichb20@mail.wlu.edu
Jimmie Johnson Jimmie Johnson johnsonjm20@mail.wlu.edu
Jiwon Kim Jiwon Kim kimji20@mail.wlu.edu Diversity PC
Prakriti Pranthi Prakriti Pranthi pranthio20@mail.wlu.edu Diversity PC
Joelle Simeu Joelle Simeu simeuj20@mail.wlu.edu Diversity PC
Marshall Howerton Marshall Howerton howertonm@mail.wlu.edu
Will Schirmer Will Schirmer schirmerw20@mail.wlu.edu
Joe Wiencek Joe Wiencek wiencekj20@mail.wlu.edu
Catherine Latour Catherine Latour latourc20@mail.wlu.edu
Wade Patterson Wade Patterson pattersonw20@mail.wlu.edu
Parker Robertson Parker Robertson roberstonp20@mail.wlu.edu
Harrison Travis Harrison Travis travish21@mail.wlu.edu
Christopher Watt Christopher Watt wattc21@mail.wlu.edu
Grace Anne Holladay Grace Anne Holladay holladayg21@mail.wlu.edu
Sarah Concepcion Sarah Concepcion concepcions21@mail.wlu.edu
Isabel Ryan Isabel Ryan ryani21@mail.wlu.edu
Micah Wilson Micah Wilson wilsonm21@mail.wlu.edu
Roman Bacchetta Roman Bacchetta bacchettar21@mail.wlu.edu
Alankrit Shatadal Alankrit Shatadal shatadala21@mail.wlu.edu
Anna Miller Anna Miller millerab21@mail.wlu.edu
Will Atkins Will Atkins atkinsw21@mail.wlu.edu
Franklin Rinko Franklin Rinko rinkof21@mail.wlu.edu
Jonathan Tucker Jonathan Tucker tuckerj21@mail.wlu.edu
Annie Talton Annie Talton taltona21@mail.wlu.edu
Cabrey Keller Cabrey Keller kellerc21@mail.wlu.edu