Earle Bates Prize in Environmental Studies

The Earle Bates Prize in Environmental Studies is awarded to a graduating environmental studies student in honor of Earle Bates, a strong supporter of the Environmental Studies Program and a role model of environmental citizenship. The award recipient is chosen by the Environmental Studies core faculty on the basis of general academic performance, academic performance in the Environmental Studies Program, participation in co-curricular activities and contributions to campus and community sustainability.


  • Kerriann E. Laubach (2013)
  • Sasha S. Doss (2013)
  • Elizabeth J. George (2012)
  • Mackenzie C. Doss (2012)
  • John T. Jacobs (2012)
  • Thomas Jenkins (2011)
  • Anna Stuart Burnett (2010)
  • Mckenzie Brown and Elissa Hanson (2009)
  • Bonnie Fay and Katelyn Huffman (2008)
  • John Bovay (2007)