Faculty and Staff

Department Chair

Gertz, Genelle

Genelle Gertz
Professor of English and Chair, English Department
Payne 111
540.458.8763
gertzg@wlu.edu

Faculty

Adams, Edward

Edward Adams
Professor of English
Washington 116
540.458.8764
adamse@wlu.edu

Conner, Marc

Marc Conner
Provost and Jo M. and James Ballengee Professor of English
Washington Hall 214
540.458.8702
connerm@wlu.edu

Gavaler, Chris

Chris Gavaler
Assistant Professor of English
Payne 213
540.458.8279
gavalerc@wlu.edu

Kao, Wan-Chuan

Wan-Chuan Kao
Assistant Professor of English
Payne Hall 214
540.458.8345
kaow@wlu.edu

Keen, Suzanne

Suzanne Keen
Dean of the College and Thomas H. Broadus Professor of English
Lee-Jackson House / Payne 110
540.458.8746
skeen@wlu.edu

Miranda, Deborah A.

Deborah A. Miranda
Professor of English
On leave 2017-2018
Payne 124
540.458.8755
mirandad@wlu.edu

Pickett, Holly

Holly Pickett
Associate Professor of English
Payne 304
540.458.8078
picketth@wlu.edu

Smith, Rod T.

Rod T. Smith
Writer-in-Residence | Editor, Shenandoah
Early-Fielding G09
540.458.8908
rodsmith@wlu.edu

Smout, Kary

Kary Smout
Associate Professor of English, Director of the Writing Center
Washington 112
540.458.8979
smoutk@wlu.edu

Walle, Taylor

Taylor Walle
Assistant Professor of English
Washington Hall 108
540.458.8362
wallet@wlu.edu

Warren, Jim

Jim Warren
S. Blount Mason, Jr. Professor of English
Returning Winter Term 2018
Washington Hall 111
540.458.8761
warrenj@wlu.edu

Wheeler, Lesley

Lesley Wheeler
Henry S. Fox Professor of English
Payne 308
540.458.8758
wheelerlm@wlu.edu

Wilson, Ricardo A.

Ricardo A. Wilson II
Assistant Professor of English
Washington Hall 110
540-458-8377
wilsonr@wlu.edu

Visiting Faculty

Ball, Gordon

Gordon Ball
Visiting Associate Professor of English
Payne Hall 309
ballg@wlu.edu

Brodie, Laura Fairchild

Laura Fairchild Brodie
Visiting Associate Professor of English
Returning Winter Term 2018
Payne 203
540.458.5896
brodiel@wlu.edu

Sydney Bufkin
Mellon Digital Humanities Fellow and Visiting Assistant Professor of English
Leyburn Library M36
540.458.8980
bufkins@wlu.edu

Ferguson, Andrew

Andrew Ferguson
Visiting Assistant Professor of English
Tucker Hall 019
540-458-8320
fergusona@wlu.edu

Fuentes, Freddy

Freddy Fuentes
Visiting Assistant Professor of English
Washington Hall 111
fuentesf@wlu.edu

Green, Leah

Leah Naomi Green
Visiting Assistant Professor of English and Environmental Studies
Payne 302
540.458.8308
greenl@wlu.edu

Harrington, Jane

Jane Harrington
Visiting Assistant Professor of English
Returning Winter 2018
harringtonj@wlu.edu

Oliver, Bill

Bill Oliver
Director of the Williams School Communications Center and Visiting Assistant Professor of English
Payne 302
540.458.8278
oliverb@wlu.edu

Rajbanshi, Reema

Reema Rajbanshi
Visiting Assistant Professor of English
Payne Hall 305
540-458-8311
rajbanshir@wlu.edu

Ruiz, Florinda

Florinda Ruiz
Visiting Associate Professor of Writing and Director of the Writing Program
Payne Hall 202
ruizf@wlu.edu

Department Secretary

O'Connell, Sandra H.

Sandra H. O'Connell
Secretary, The Department of English
Payne 102
(540) 458-8756
oconnells@wlu.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Craun, Edwin

Edwin Craun
Professor of English Emeritus
craune@wlu.edu