Ruth E. Flournoy Theater Endowment "Believe None of Us"

The Ruth E. Flournoy Theatre Endowment was created in 1998 by Mrs. Flournoy as a departmental support fund in honor of her husband, Dan H. Flournoy '64, and her children, Sarah M. Flournoy '97 and John W. Flournoy '99. Return from this endowment annually supports visiting guest artists on campus, including teachers and production support professionals ranging from single performances to residential teaching/performing engagements. Over the years, this generous endowment has supported the artistic and educational mission of the department in various ways.

For the 2014-2015 school year, the Flournoy Theatre Endowment is supporting a workshop performance of Believe None of Us, adapted from William Shakespeare’s Hamlet by Jemma Alix Levy, which will be performed in the Johnson Theater on Sunday, Nov. 1, at 3 pm.

Believe None of Us is a new adaptation of William Shakespeare’s Hamlet that looks at how the character of Hamlet differs in each of the three “original” texts of the play (the 1603 First Quarto, the 1604 Second Quarto, and the 1623 First Folio) by putting the three Hamlets in conversation with each other.

Adapted and directed by Jemma Alix Levy.

The cast includes:

Ben Crystal, actor, author, producer, and Artistic Director of Passion in Practice

Dr. Matt Davies, actor, director, and Assistant Professor in the MLitt/MFA Shakespeare and Performance program at Mary Baldwin College

Alex Fthenakis, actor, Producer of Pepperdine Scotland, and Producing Artistic Associate of Muse of Fire Theatre Company

Sean Hagerty, actor, director, and Associate Artistic Director of New York Classical Theatre


From 2012-2015 The Ruth E. Flournoy Theater Endowment supported the department’s production season by hiring high quality Technical Directors from around the country. They coordinated the artistic work of faculty, guest artists and students to execute the highest caliber productions our department have ever presented.

• 2013-2015 Latiana Gourzong was the recipient of the Ruth E. Flournoy Theater Endowment.

• 2012-2013 Andrew Becker was the recipient of the Ruth E. Flournoy Theater Endowment.

• 2011-2012 Anthony Lawrence was the recipient of the Ruth E. Flournoy Theater Endowment.

Past Playwright Festivals include:

2010-2011: Lucinda McDermott's Feeding on Mulberry Leaves along with several other special performances and events.

2009: Lucy Thurber's Where We're Born, directed by Marquita Robinson ’10.

2009: Christopher Cartmill's ’84 (written and directed by Christopher Cartmill) The Apotheosis of Vaclav Drda, and readings of The Robbers of Madderbloom, and Nebraska Dispatches.

2008: Tom Ziegler's (written and directed by Tom Ziegler) Father Frances.

2006: Paula Vogel's (directed by Tom Ziegler) How I Learned to Drive, and (student directed by Michael Wagoner ’07) The Long Christmas Ride Home, and a reading of Paula Vogel's (directed by Tom Ziegler) The Oldest Profession

2005: Neil LaBute's (directed by Tom Ziegler) The Shape of Things. A Reading of LaBute's Fat Pig, and The Mercy Seat.

2004: Bo Wilson's (directed by Tom Ziegler) War Story, Bo Wilson's (directed by Tom Evans) My Uncle's Business.

2003: Wendy Kesselman's(directed by Tom Ziegler) The Notebook. Readings by Dwayne Yancey Monument Avenue, Brad Hearn's The High Watermark, and Emily Ecton's ’92 Reign of Tara.

2002: Arlene Hutton's Last Train to Nibroc, and John Henry Redwood's No Niggers, No Jews, and No Dogs. Both directed by Tom Ziegler.