First-Year Housing Agreement Conditions of Rental
First-Year Housing applications must be completed online. This is a reference copy only. You will be required to sign a Housing Contract during Orientation Week. All on campus residents are required to comply with the policies, guidelines, and expectations for students outlined in the Washington and Lee Student Handbook (http://go.wlu.edu/student-handbook).
This rental license has been made available to you at the request of the Admissions Committee of Washington and Lee University. Of your $1,000 nonrefundable reservation fee, $850 will be applied toward your fall-term tuition. The remaining $150 will be held as a housing deposit, which is returnable at the end of the academic year, less any subsequent charges assessed for damages to the room. Students also share responsibility for damage to common living areas and furnishings. Any damage caused by vandalism during the academic year will be immediately charged to the student(s). Payment will be due at that time, and may not be deducted from the security deposit. The security deposit may also be forfeited in the event that your key is not returned to the Office of Residential Life (Commons 247) or staff member (RA) within 2 weeks of checking out.
Each student, regardless of the room assigned, will be provided the following furniture: a clothes closet or wardrobe, chest of drawers, study desk, bed, springs, mattress, and chair. In addition, each hall is provided with its own fire extinguisher.
Each student provides his or her own bed linens, pillow and whatever additional furniture is desired. University furniture may not be removed from residence hall rooms at any time. The following items are prohibited: water beds, non-approved loft beds, knives, paintball guns, hand guns, rifles, shotguns, blow guns, stun weapons, other weapons, fireworks, funnelators, pets, halogen lamps, cooking appliances, ceiling fans, space heaters, air conditioners, refrigerators of more than 2.5 cubic foot capacity, candles, incense, alcohol and all drugs defined as "controlled substances" under Virginia state law.
Rooms are rented for the entire academic year, not by the month, with rents payable in August in advance of the fall term and again in December, in advance of the winter and spring terms. For rental purposes, the winter and spring terms are considered as a single session with no additional charge for the spring term. Students may not move into the residence halls before the designated move-in date of Sunday, August 30, 2015 (for The Leading Edge participants ONLY) and Saturday, September 5, 2015.* Students are required to vacate the room 24 hours after the last scheduled exam of spring term. A student who is permitted to change rooms any time during the academic year will be responsible for the rate difference.
No refunds are made to students who withdraw voluntarily or involuntarily from the University. Residence hall rental licenses and room assignments are not transferable without permission from the Dean for First-Year Experience. By signing this rental license, the student agrees to respect the rights of roommates, particularly the right to restrict visitors to the room and the right to a reasonable degree of privacy. All students should recognize that living in a residence hall requires compromises among residents.
So far as feasible, the University tries to assign to each student, on a first-come, first-served basis, the particular room type he or she prefers. Assignments to residence hall rooms can ordinarily be regarded as final and permanent. However, the University reserves the right to make adjustments in room assignments where it deems necessary. Please indicate your preference for single or double room, but please note that the University cannot absolutely guarantee the availability of the type of room you request.
*Fall athletes (including cheer) are expected to move-in prior to the above dates. Your coach will issue room keys and you will move directly into your assigned room for the academic year upon arrival. Please contact your coach for your early arrival date, which vary by sport. International students are also expected to move-in prior to the above dates. Information regarding International Orientation, including your move-in date, will be provided to you by the International Education department.
2014 - 2015 Room Rates
Single Room: $7,200
Double Room: $4,750
2015-2016 Room Rates - TBD
Rates include basic cable television.
Substance-Free Housing Option
A limited number of substance-free halls are provided for students who refrain from drinking alcohol and/or who simply do not want to interact with those who are under the influence of alcohol or other drugs. Students residing on these halls agree to establish guidelines and community standards with fellow residents. Hall residents will work with their Resident Adviser (RA) by participating, attending and supporting hall, campus and community programs and events aimed at promoting healthy lifestyles and decisions.
Academic Year 2015-2016 Residence Hall Dates
|August 30, 2015||OPEN||The Leading Edge participants ONLY.|
|September 5, 2015||OPEN||All NEW students.|
|October 15 - 16, 2015||OPEN||Reading Days, no class; residence halls remain open.|
|Nov. 23 - 27, 2015||OPEN||Thanksgiving Break, students are not required to leave campus.|
|Dec. 20, 2015 - Jan. 8, 2016||CLOSED||Winter Break, residence halls are closed. Students are required to leave campus for Winter Break within 24 hours of their last fall term exam.|
|January 9, 2016||OPEN||Open to all new and returning students.|
|Feb. 22 - 26, 2016||OPEN||Washington Break, students are not required to leave campus.|
|April 18 - 22, 2016||OPEN||Spring Break, students are not required to leave campus.|
|May 21, 2016||CLOSED||End of year; First-Years, Sophomores and Juniors are required to check out of their room and leave campus within 24 hours of their last spring term exam.|
|May 22, 2016||CLOSED||Residence halls are closed to all students except Seniors, RA's, and a select group of students participating in Commencement week events.|
|May 27, 2016||CLOSED||Seniors and all other students with late-stay approval must check out of their room and leave campus within 24 hours of Commencement.|