Faculty and Staff

Department Head

Sukow, David W.

David W. Sukow
Robert Lee Telford Professor of Physics and Engineering, Department Head
540.458.8881
sukowd@wlu.edu

Ph.D. in Physics from Duke University - performs experimental research on nonlinear dynamics and chaos in semiconductor lasers.

Faculty

Cook, L. Jonathan

L. Jonathan Cook
Visiting Assistant Professor of Physics
540.458.8294
cookj@wlu.edu

Ph.D. in Physics from Virginia Tech - His research interests are in the field of non-equilibrium statistical mechanics.

Cumming, Elizabeth W.

Elizabeth W. Cumming
Laboratory Supervisor and Instructor of Physics
540.458.8883
cummingl@wlu.edu

M.S. in Electrical Engineering from Brown University, 1984 - Her research interests are in physics education as well as lasers, laser applications and optics.

D'Alessandro, Kacie

Kacie D'Alessandro
Assistant Professor of Physics and Engineering
540.458.8887
dalessandrok@wlu.edu

Ph.D. in Civil Engineering from Virginia Tech - Her research interests include design of structures using innovative concretes, performance evaluations of structures and engineering education.

Erickson, Jonathan

Jonathan Erickson
Assistant Professor of Physics and Engineering
540.458.8293
ericksonj@wlu.edu

Ph.D. in Bioengineering at Caltech - Research interests include plasticity and information processing in cultured neural networks, biomedical signal processing, gastrointestinal electrical activity patterns and bio-robotics.

Kuehner, Joel P.

Joel P. Kuehner
Associate Professor of Physics and Engineering
540.458.8153
kuehnerj@wlu.edu

Ph.D. from the Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering at University of Illinois - His research interests include experimental gas dynamics and laser diagnostics.

Mazilu, Dan A.

Dan A. Mazilu
Associate Professor of Physics
540.458.8172
mazilud@wlu.edu

Ph.D. in Physics from Virginia Tech - Research focuses on fabrication of thin films with self-assembled nanoparticle monolayers, for producing highly reliable, cost-effective anti-reflection optical coatings.

Mazilu, Irina

Irina Mazilu
Associate Professor of Physics
540.458.8171
mazilui@wlu.edu

Ph. D. from Virginia Tech - Non-equilibrium statistical physics using analytical methods and computer simulation techniques; interdisciplinary projects, such as the study of molecular motors, traffic jams, and nanoparticle self-assembly.

Williams, Caitlin

Caitlin Williams
Visiting Assistant Professor, Physics and Engineering
540.458.8888
williamsc@wlu.edu

Ph.D. in physics from the University of Maryland, College Park - Her research includes experimental chaos, nonlinear dynamics, and random number generation in optoelectronic systems.

Emeritus Faculty

Boller, Bruce

Bruce Boller
Emeritus Professor, Physics and Engineering
bollerb@wlu.edu

Ness, Kenneth E. Van

Kenneth E. Van Ness
Emeritus Professor of Physics and Engineering
vannessk@wlu.edu

Reese, Ronald Lane

Ronald Lane Reese
Emeritus Professor of Physics
reeser@wlu.edu

Staff

Roy, Catherine

Catherine Roy
Administrative Assistant II
540.458.8882
royc@wlu.edu

In addition to administrative support for her Department, Catherine also supports the alumni Science Advisory Board, maintains both her Department and the Sciences website for the University and maintains the Science Building room reservations.