Faculty and Staff

Program Director

Radulescu, Domnica

Domnica Radulescu
Edwin A. Morris Professor of Romance Languages and Director of the Medieval and Renaisance Studies Program
Sabbatical Leave 2013-2014
540.458.8030
radulescud@wlu.edu

Core Faculty

Bent, George

George Bent
Sidney Gause Childress Professor in the Arts
540.458.8863
bentg@wlu.edu

Blecher, Joel

Joel Blecher
Assistant Professor of Religion and Adjunct Professor of Law
540.458.8797
blecherj@wlu.edu

Classical, Medieval and Modern Islamic Intellectual and Social History

Gertz, Genelle

Genelle Gertz
Associate Professor of English and Writing Program Director
540.458.8763
gertzg@wlu.edu

Kao, Wan-Chuan

Wan-Chuan Kao
Assistant Professor of English
540.458.8345
kaow@wlu.edu

Peterson, David

David Peterson
Professor of History, Chair of the Department of History, Acting Director of the Medieval and Renaissance Studies Program
540.458.8094
petersond@wlu.edu

Medieval, Renaissance, and Reformation Europe

Pickett, Holly

Holly Pickett
Associate Professor of English
540.458.8078
picketth@wlu.edu

Prager, Debra

Debra Prager
Associate Professor of German
On Leave 2013-2014
540.458.8830
pragerd@wlu.edu

Elementary German I & II, Intermediate German, Highlights of German Civilization,The Grimms Revisited: Fairy Tales and Popular Culture; Living by the Code: Literature of the High Middle Ages19th-Century Literature

Affiliated Faculty

Brown, Alexandra

Alexandra Brown
Jessie Ball duPont Professor of Religion
On leave 2014-2015
540.458.8789
browna@wlu.edu

Carlisle, Miriam

Miriam Carlisle
Associate Professor of Classics
540.458.8196
carlislem@wlu.edu

Conner, Marc

Marc Conner
Jo M. and James Ballengee Professor of English and Associate Provost
540.458.8924
connerm@wlu.edu

Dobin, Hank

Hank Dobin
Professor of English
hdobin@wlu.edu

Horowitz, Sarah

Sarah Horowitz
Assistant Professor of History
540.458.8773
horowitzs@wlu.edu

Modern Europe, France, Women in Europe

Jew, Kimberly M.

Kimberly M. Jew
Associate Professor of Theater, Director of W&L Educational Theater State Teaching Certification
On sabbatical leave 2014-15
540.458.8004
jewk@wlu.edu

Lubin, Timothy

Timothy Lubin
Professor of Religion and Adjunct Professor of Law
540.458.8146
lubint@wlu.edu

Fulbright-Hays Faculty Research Abroad Fellowship (U.S. Department of Education) and American Philosophical Society Sabbatical Fellowship (Andrew W. Mellon Foundation) for his research project "Authority, Law and the Polity in India, 300-1700."

Mayock, Ellen

Ellen Mayock
Ernest Williams II Professor of Spanish
540.458.8816
mayocke@wlu.edu

The Novel in Spain and Latin America; Literary Naturalism: Women Writers of Spain, Latin America, and the U.S.; Feminist Theory; Immigrant Populations in the U.S.

Yolanda Merril
Assoc. Prof./Humanities Librarian
540.458.8662
merrilly@wlu.edu

David Millon
J. B. Stombock Professor of Law
540.458.8993
millond@wlu.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Craun, Edwin

Edwin Craun
Professor of English Emeritus
540.458.8757
craune@wlu.edu

Staff