Faculty and Staff

Program Head

Barnett, Jeff

Jeff Barnett
Professor of Spanish and Program Head, Latin American and Caribbean Studies
540.458.8950
barnettj@wlu.edu

Latin American Narrative and Cultural Studies, with regional emphasis on Mexican, Central American, and Pan-Caribbean cultures.

Core Faculty

Botta, Mónica

Mónica Botta
Associate Professor of Spanish
540.458.8297
bottam@wlu.edu

Latin American Theater, emphasis on the transmission of history and memory in the theater of the Southern Cone. Human rights and post-dictatorial literatures and, Staging in the Academe.

Dickovick, Tyler

Tyler Dickovick
Grigsby Term Associate Professor of Politics
540.458.8174
dickovickt@wlu.edu

Eastwood, Jonathan

Jonathan Eastwood
Associate Professor of Sociology
540.458.8777
eastwoodj@wlu.edu

Gildner, Matt

Matt Gildner
Assistant Professor of History
540.458.8772
gildnerm@wlu.edu

Colonial Latin America, Modern Latin America, U.S.-Latin America Relations

Lepage, Andrea

Andrea Lepage
Associate Professor of Art History
540.458.8305
lepagea@wlu.edu

Mayock, Ellen

Ellen Mayock
Ernest Williams II Professor of Spanish
540.458.8816
mayocke@wlu.edu

The Novel in Spain and Latin America; Literary Naturalism: Women Writers of Spain, Latin America, and the U.S.; Feminist Theory; Immigrant Populations in the U.S.

Michelson, Seth R.

Seth Michelson
Assistant Professor of Spanish
540.458.8818
michelsons@wlu.edu

Latin American Poetry, Aesthetics, Translation Theory, Feminist Poetics, State Violence, Colonialism, Neoliberalism

Affiliate Faculty

Baluarte, David

David Baluarte
Assistant Clinical Professor of Law and Director, Immigrant Rights Clinic
540.458.8066
baluarted@wlu.edu

Immigration Law, refugees and stateless persons, and transnational law with a specific focus on international human rights law and practice.

Casey, Jim

Jim Casey
Associate Professor of Economics
540.458.8102
caseyj@wlu.edu

Kahn, Jim

Jim Kahn
John F. Hendon Professor of Economics
540.458.8036
kahnj@wlu.edu

US-Brazil Exchange Program; Chesapeake Bay Program

Kamara, Mohamed

Mohamed Kamara
Associate Professor of French
540.458.8475
kamaram@wlu.edu

Markowitz, Harvey

Harvey Markowitz
Associate Professor of Sociology/Anthropology
540.458.8214
markowitzh@wlu.edu

Miranda, Deborah A.

Deborah A. Miranda
The John Lucian Smith Term Professor of English
540.458.8755
mirandad@wlu.edu

Poetry; Native American women's literature; literatures of U.S. populations whose work has been traditionally overlooked; indigenous erotics.

Pinto-Bailey, A. Cristina

A. Cristina Pinto-Bailey
Visiting Assistant Professor of Spanish and Portuguese
540.458.8055
pinto-baileyac@wlu.edu

Reiter, Sandy

Sandy Reiter
Associate Professor of Business Administration
540.458.8223
reiters@wlu.edu

Sandy Reiter's primary research interests are in the areas of business ethics and economic justice.