skip to main content
Menu

Faculty and Staff

Department Chair

Peterson, David

David Peterson
Professor of History, Chair of the Department of History, Acting Director of the Medieval and Renaissance Studies Program
540.458.8094
petersond@wlu.edu

Medieval, Renaissance, and Reformation Europe

Faculty

Bello, David

David Bello
Associate Professor of History, Director of East Asian Studies
540.458.8770
bellod@wlu.edu

China and Japan
Bidlack, Richard

Richard Bidlack
Professor of History
540.458.8912
bidlackr@wlu.edu

Russia and the Soviet Union - (On sabbatical, Fall 2013)
DeLaney, Ted

Ted DeLaney
Associate Professor of History
540.458.8963
delaneyt@wlu.edu

Colonial North America, Comparative Slavery, African American, Civil Rights, Gay and Lesbian
Gildner, Matt

Matt Gildner
Assistant Professor of History
540.458.8772
gildnerm@wlu.edu

Teaching: Colonial Latin America, Modern Latin America, U.S.-Latin America Relations Research Interests: The cultural, political, and intellectual history of modern Latin America, with an emphasis on the Andean region.
Horowitz, Sarah

Sarah Horowitz
Assistant Professor of History
540.458.8773
horowitzs@wlu.edu

Modern Europe, France, Women in Europe

Christian Jennings
Assistant Professor of History
540.458.8780
jenningsc@wlu.edu

Africa, World, Military
McGee, Andrew Meade

Andrew Meade McGee
Visiting Instructor of History
540.458.4635
mcgeea@wlu.edu

Twentieth Century U.S.
Michelmore, Molly

Molly Michelmore
Associate Professor of History
540.458.8779
michelmorem@wlu.edu

Twentieth Century U.S. Political, Cultural and Social - (On sabbatical, 2013-2014)
Myers, Barton A.

Barton A. Myers
Assistant Professor of History
540.458.8776
myersb@wlu.edu

American Civil War, War and Society, U.S. South, Public History
Patch, William

William Patch
Kenan Professor of History
540.458.8774
patchw@wlu.edu

Modern Europe, Germany, International Relations
Rupke, Nicolaas A.

Nicolaas A. Rupke
Johnson Professor of History
540.458.8344
rupken@wlu.edu

History of Science
Senechal, Roberta

Roberta Senechal
Professor of History
540.458.8456
senechalr@wlu.edu

U.S. Social History, Violence, Women in America

Affiliated Faculty

Bell, Alison

Alison Bell
Associate Professor of Archaeology
540.458.8798
bella@wlu.edu

Blecher, Joel

Joel Blecher
Assistant Professor of Religion
540.458.8797
blecherj@wlu.edu

Classical, Medieval and Modern Islamic Intellectual and Social History
Eastwood, Jonathan

Jonathan Eastwood
Associate Professor of Sociology
540.458.8777
eastwoodj@wlu.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Lamar Cecil
William R. Kenan Jr. Professor of History Emeritus
lamarcecil@comcast.net

Roger B. Jeans
Elizabeth Lewis Otey Professor of History Emeritus
540.463.2254
jeansr@wlu.edu

William A. Jenks
William R. Kenan Jr. Professor of History Emeritus
ashworthj@wlu.edu (for messages)

Barry Machado
Professor of History Emeritus
machadob@wlu.edu

J. Holt Merchant
Professor of History, Emeritus
540.458.8778
merchanth@wlu.edu

David Parker
Associate Professor of History Emeritus
540.463.4046
ashworthj@wlu.edu (for messages)

Administrative Assistant