Faculty and Staff

Department Chair

Wheeler, Lesley

Lesley Wheeler
Henry S. Fox Professor of English
540.458.8758
wheelerlm@wlu.edu

Faculty

Adams, Edward

Edward Adams
Professor of English
on sabbatical in 2014-15
540.458.8764
adamse@wlu.edu

Conner, Marc

Marc Conner
Jo M. and James Ballengee Professor of English and Associate Provost
540.458.8924
connerm@wlu.edu

Dobin, Hank

Hank Dobin
Professor of English
hdobin@wlu.edu

Gavaler, Chris

Chris Gavaler
Assistant Professor of English
540.458.8279
gavalerc@wlu.edu

Gertz, Genelle

Genelle Gertz
Associate Professor of English and Writing Program Director
540.458.8763
gertzg@wlu.edu

Kao, Wan-Chuan

Wan-Chuan Kao
Assistant Professor of English
540.458.8345
kaow@wlu.edu

Keen, Suzanne

Suzanne Keen
Dean of the College and Thomas H. Broadus Professor of English
540.458.8746
skeen@wlu.edu

Jess Keiser
Assistant Professor of English
540.458.8311
keiserj@wlu.edu

Miranda, Deborah A.

Deborah A. Miranda
The John Lucian Smith Term Professor of English
540.458.8755
mirandad@wlu.edu

Pickett, Holly

Holly Pickett
Associate Professor of English
540.458.8078
picketth@wlu.edu

Smith, Rod T.

Rod T. Smith
Writer-in-Residence | Editor, Shenandoah
(540) 458-8908
rodsmith@wlu.edu

Smout, Kary

Kary Smout
Associate Professor of English, Director of the Writing Center
540.458.8979
smoutk@wlu.edu

Warren, Jim

Jim Warren
S. Blount Mason, Jr. Professor of English
Professor Warren will return for winter term 2015.
540.458.8761
warrenj@wlu.edu

Visiting Faculty

Brodie, Laura Fairchild

Laura Fairchild Brodie
Visiting Assistant Professor of English
(540) 458-5896
brodiel@wlu.edu

Sydney Bufkin
Visiting Assistant Professor of English
bufkins@wlu.edu

Green, Leah

Leah Naomi Green
Visiting Assistant Professor of English and Environmental Studies
540.458.8308
greenl@wlu.edu

John Leland
Visiting Assistant Professor of English
540.458.8762
lelandj@wlu.edu

Oliver, Bill

Bill Oliver
Visiting Assistant Professor of English
540.458.8278
oliverb@wlu.edu

Renault-Steele, Summer

Summer Renault-Steele
Visiting Instructor of Writing, English, and Film
540.458.5868
renault-steeles@wlu.edu

Department Secretary

O'Connell, Sandra H.

Sandra H. O'Connell
Secretary, The Department of English
(540) 458-8756
oconnells@wlu.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Craun, Edwin

Edwin Craun
Professor of English Emeritus
540.458.8757
craune@wlu.edu